Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Using wireless router as a wireless bridge

    This is a discussion on Using wireless router as a wireless bridge within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Ok I have a sagem Sky wireless router (just received) upstairs which is connected by ethernet to my PC. I ...

    1. #1
      gurrrh's Avatar
      gurrrh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bpl
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using wireless router as a wireless bridge

      Ok I have a sagem Sky wireless router (just received) upstairs which is connected by ethernet to my PC.

      I would like to take advantage of the Sky Anytime + but I would need a very long ethernet cable to do so or purchase the 60 sky wireless adapter which I didn't want to do.

      I have a spare NETGEAR DG834G v3 wireless router which I had before I joined sky. Is there a way of connecting this upto my sky box via ethernet and use the wireless fuction on this to connect to my sagem router upstairs (which would then connect to the internet). I just wondered whether it is as simple as turning of the DHCP and perhaps using a different ip address.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Using wireless router as a wireless bridge


      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Using wireless router as a wireless bridge

      Quote Originally Posted by gurrrh View Post
      I have a spare NETGEAR DG834G v3 wireless router which I had before I joined sky. Is there a way of connecting this upto my sky box via ethernet and use the wireless fuction on this to connect to my sagem router upstairs (which would then connect to the internet). I just wondered whether it is as simple as turning of the DHCP and perhaps using a different ip address.
      Not possible. Sky routers don't support wireless bridging and your Netgear DG834G does not support client mode.

      See if you qualify for this: Free Wireless Connector

    5. #4
      gurrrh's Avatar
      gurrrh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bpl
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using wireless router as a wireless bridge

      Thanks for the help. Might just have to get a wireless card for my PC!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION