Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    DG934G Router help please

    This is a discussion on DG934G Router help please within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there - in the last 4 weeks I have been having a lot of static on my telephone line ...

    1. #1
      Ameythist's Avatar
      Ameythist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky phone and BB lite
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DG934G Router help please

      Hi there - in the last 4 weeks I have been having a lot of static on my telephone line (working perfectly up till then) engineer came out - no fault found - no extensions in the house currently plugged into master socket. He said as it was intermittent just ring them out again. Meanwhile my broad band is rubbish, only the last few weeks. Router is constantly flashing takes ages to connect in the mornings and stays orange for ages, eventually connects when green but then runs very slowly and I ultimately get internet explorer page........ Problem I have is engineer coming back on Wednesday and Sky will not look a the BB until potential fault found although everyone saying the line is not faulty. What comes first the chicken or the Egg!
      Spoke to BB cs they gave some rubbish of do not switch off router as they will send some new config down to it.....However no record of that call or in fact the previous 2 calls I had made.

      Plugged into master socket now router stats:
      Router Statistics

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions
      WAN PPPoA 3421 3921 0
      LAN 100M/Full 11819 10328 0
      WLAN 11M/54M 4161 3230 0


      Port Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN 628 2397 00:20:58
      LAN 4069 1443 00:26:40
      WLAN 458 832 00:26:28

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 378 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49 db 29 db
      Noise Margin 28 db 19 db

      Any help appreciated as My line has an intermittent static fault so is it this effecting my BB? Or is my router on its way out and the line fault not connected.

      Did have full package with SKY from Sept 2009/2010 totally down graded to no TV, and just the lite BB/phone sept 2011 but all ok until last month

      The only other factor regarding my BB is I changed my Desktop in Feb and now have windows 7?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router help please

      You're going to need to find out whether this is a voice or broadband fault.

      Can you confirm that you still have intermittent noise on the line when ONLY the phone, and no other equipment whatsoever, is connected to the test socket (provided you have one)?

      If so, then Sky are doing the right thing in pursuing the noise fault first.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      Ameythist (02-05-11)

    5. #3
      Ameythist's Avatar
      Ameythist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky phone and BB lite
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router help please

      Hi thanks for the quick response. Yes only when the phone is plugged in I still have a noisy line. However, the engineer came and it was as clear as a bell. The CS did a test and said although he heard crackling the line tested clear........... I feel a long battle ahead................thanks though

    6. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router help please

      Intermittent line faults can sometimes be notoriously hard to pinpoint, but it's likely the cause of your broadband issues. On one hand, although heavily capped, your stats look fine in regards to noise margins - perhaps the noise is clear at the moment on the line. However, my guess would be is that the noise margin will dip come a 'noisy' period.

      Essentially you need to keep on at Sky and get another engineer booked.

    7. #5
      Ameythist's Avatar
      Ameythist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky phone and BB lite
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router help please

      Just took another reading as I am paranoid at the engineer coming tomorrow and finding no fault again............. The line today is very crackly and full of static this is what my router says.

      Sky are threatening if the engineer find fault they will charge me - as it stands they are finding nothing...


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions
      WAN PPPoA 57207 67995 0
      LAN 100M/Full 127299 113609 0
      WLAN 11M/54M 55971 57528 0


      Port Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN 413 1699 00:20:58
      LAN 2502 778 00:26:40
      WLAN 324 751 00:26:28

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 378 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50 db 32 db
      Noise Margin 1 db 8 db

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router help please

      Provided you only have one socket or are plugged into the Test socket and you get the noise without anything else plugged in, you have nothing to worry about. There is definately something wrong with your connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Ameythist (03-05-11)

    10. #7
      Ameythist's Avatar
      Ameythist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky phone and BB lite
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router help please

      So the latest to this saga.......... engineer did not show yesterday! called Sky, on the phone 45min they have rebooked the call.........However in the conversation with CS it came out that I was put onto the new BT equipment 24th march........... I said hell of a coincedence that I called first on the 26th March with my intermittant fault! this has been ongoing on since then.....My new appointment is Saturday we wait in anticipation....

    11. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router help please

      I did not think a Sky LLU line could or would be put on BT equipment. I think the CS may have been waffling.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #9
      Ameythist's Avatar
      Ameythist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky phone and BB lite
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router help please

      Theres me thinking I was closer to finding the reason! oh well lets hope they find something as my broadband is terrible.....

    13. #10
      Ameythist's Avatar
      Ameythist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky phone and BB lite
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router help please

      So engineer did not show up again! was on the phone to SKY for 50 mins whilst they tried to get through to open reach. I am now told the databases between sky and open reach are not matching up so whatever is booked on sky is not showing on open reach! SKY will ring me back later with some information...............meanwhile line still crackles and broadband is crap!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION