Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    router trouble

    This is a discussion on router trouble within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; last year sky sent me a new router a sagem one and its useless its sometimes very slow and my ...

    1. #1
      linda1968's Avatar
      linda1968 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: +44708596501
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      router trouble

      last year sky sent me a new router a sagem one and its useless its sometimes very slow and my connection cuts out when i leave the room and its only just down the hall which is only about 10mtres away and it wont work upstairs any advice would be greatly appreciated also do i have to use a sky router


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: router trouble

      Try changing the channel in your router. Try No 13. If that does not improve your reception, post back.

      As for your second question you will find the answer in this section.
      Broadband Technical Help

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: router trouble

      It is against the T&C not to use a sky router but that doesn't mean that you have to.

      When you search for wireless networks in range how many comes up?

      If the issue is just wireless follow the link in my signature to download inSSIDer, it will tell you all the wireless channels that are being used by your neighbours and therefore you can set yours to a different channel.

      It might also be a good idea to post your stats so that we can see if you are getting the best out of your connection.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: router trouble

      Hello Linda,

      First of all could you post your router's stats?

      Also could you confirm that it is plugged in the Master Socket?

      Hopefully someone can help to see if things can be improved.

      Sadly until very recently (within that last few weeks) Sky only shipped routers that were WiFi g enabled. This isn't the best WiFi available in respect of signal strength and potential speed.

      There are a number of different solutions available to you, each with a different price tag and tasks to perform. These include the following, all of which are described elsewhere on this forum:

      a. HomePlugs
      b. Second Router
      c. Using a different router of your own that has WiFi n abilities

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: router trouble

      Tier 1 haven't even been officially told we ship N grade routers.

      Even if we did it doesn't give us the option of sending the best available router.

      Since your router is still in warrant you could try getting them to send you out a new one and hopefully get the N grade one. This may take a bit of bluffing on your part about how the router isn't working.

      If changing the channel doesn't work their are other options avaiable such ashomplugs or purchasing an N grade router to piggyback with each having their own advantages and disadvantages. As previously mentioned by Scubbie
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: router trouble

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      Tier 1 haven't even been officially told we ship N grade routers.
      Sky doesn't. The latest router isn't actually certified properly for WiFi n specs. It only goes up to 74Mb connection, when the minimum for WiFi n is 150Mb. WiFi g (for the those who don't know) is 56Mb.

      The next one, which has been certified as WiFi n capable has yet to be seen by consumers.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Try changing the channel in your router. Try No 13. If that does not improve your reception, post back.

      As for your second question you will find the answer in this section.
      Broadband Technical Help
      Not every WiFi enabled PC or Laptop can actually work on channel 13. An elderly Toshiba that I have has a WiFi g adapter that failed to find a router of mine on channel 13. For this reason i had to change the channel.

      A good idea would be to download & install a program called InSSIDer. This can help the OP to find any clear channels in their area, if channel 13 doesn't work.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: router trouble

      An elderly Toshiba that I have has a WiFi g adapter that failed to find a router of mine on channel 13. For this reason i had to change the channel.
      I have seen this happen with new laptops that were set to the wrong location, USA instead of UK. Channels 12 and 13 are not used by the public in North America.

      You made a typo by the way Wireless G is 54mbps

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: router trouble

      Cheers Tom. Just that sometimes we need to be aware that members might not have the ability to access channel 13.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION