Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Help! Using a Belkin F5D7632 Router Instead Of A Standard Netgear DG834GT

    This is a discussion on Help! Using a Belkin F5D7632 Router Instead Of A Standard Netgear DG834GT within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I have a standard Netgear DG834GT router supplied by sky and have loads of issues connecting up my wireless ...

    1. #1
      ps3customgamer's Avatar
      ps3customgamer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Help! Using a Belkin F5D7632 Router Instead Of A Standard Netgear DG834GT

      Hi
      I have a standard Netgear DG834GT router supplied by sky and have loads of issues connecting up my wireless devices in that most don't work very well with it as they're very slow.

      I want to use my very old Belkin F5D7632 router instead and need some help setting it up. Ive already gotten my connection login username and password from here.
      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

      However when I login using PPPoA i get the message login failed!
      What have i done wrong, will this even work, do I need a different router?
      Help!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Help! Using a Belkin F5D7632 Router Instead Of A Standard Netgear DG834GT

      what you can do is to use the Belkin as a wireless access point running off the Sky router.

      To do that assign an IP address to the Belkin eg 192.168.0.254 (it just has to be in the same range as the Sky router)

      Turn off DCHP on the belkin.

      Set up your wireless details on the Belkin and turn off wireless on the Sky router.

      Connect the Belkin up to the Sky router with an ethernet cable and away you go, you are still within Sky's T&C's and you are using the wireless network you want.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    4. #3
      ps3customgamer's Avatar
      ps3customgamer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Using a Belkin F5D7632 Router Instead Of A Standard Netgear DG834GT

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      what you can do is to use the Belkin as a wireless access point running off the Sky router.

      To do that assign an IP address to the Belkin eg 192.168.0.254 (it just has to be in the same range as the Sky router)

      Turn off DCHP on the belkin.

      Set up your wireless details on the Belkin and turn off wireless on the Sky router.

      Connect the Belkin up to the Sky router with an ethernet cable and away you go, you are still within Sky's T&C's and you are using the wireless network you want.
      I don't want to route the connection to my Belkin router as my the Netgear router has issues with the internet cutting.

      There must be a way to connect with my Belkin router how would it be done be done with any other brand of router?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Help! Using a Belkin F5D7632 Router Instead Of A Standard Netgear DG834GT

      Does your Belkin router allow you to spoof the MAC address?

      You may need to copy the MAC address from the Netgear DG834GT. Whilst you're there, just check that it is still set for PPPoA. There is an update for some routers that is changing this setting.

      The sign-on details need to be copied correctly. They are case sensitive. don't add '.com' or anything like that, it isn't an email address (some people have done this).

      Also ensure the following are set correctly:

      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Help! Using a Belkin F5D7632 Router Instead Of A Standard Netgear DG834GT

      If you want to check the password and username is right, the following shell injection for the white sky router should work in most browsers:-

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?PATH=/b...%261+2%3E%261;

      Mel's Notes: Sky Netgear DG834GT-1skuk


      Also try spoofing the sky router's WAN mac address, as suggested above.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION