Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Problem setting up wireless connection

    This is a discussion on Problem setting up wireless connection within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; HI all, this is my first post and I'm a bit clueless when it comes to the wireless world because ...

    1. #1
      silverdogs's Avatar
      silverdogs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem setting up wireless connection

      HI all, this is my first post and I'm a bit clueless when it comes to the wireless world because I've never had to do it, so apologies for the long post.

      I have two desktop pc's - one for personal use and one for work. At the moment the home pc is the only one connected to the internet, but with a cable. It would be nice to connect the other one without having to swap the cables over and also my husband wants to connect on his mobile when he's at home and not have to use up his minutes.

      I have been through the Wireless connection wizard and also the tutorial on here. The only thing I didn't understand and may have done wrong is when it tells you to plug the flash drive into the wireless access point - where do I find that, on the pc? When I get to the end of the wizardy thingy it is supposed to list the wireless connections but there are none listed.

      So what I need first and foremost is to connect this pc wirelessly and all I have achieved is adding my computer's MAC code to the trusted wireless station list. It doesn't matter about the work computer at the moment because I'll probably be replacing it with a laptop soon anyway. Is there something else I should be activating? Oh and I'm using Windows XP if that helps.

      I also seem to have created another problem whilst messing about with it yesterday. I will post the other problem on a new thread.

      Thanks
      Sarah


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem setting up wireless connection

      The first thing to determine is if you have a wireless adapter installed on the PC. Without one you cannot connect by wireless.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      silverdogs's Avatar
      silverdogs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem setting up wireless connection

      OK, how do I find that out?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Problem setting up wireless connection

      Do you have a WiFi Dongle or a WiFi card?

      If you have a WiFi card, you should see an aerial at the back of the computer.

      If it is a dongle, the you would have plugged this into a USB port.

      If you have neither, then it might be an idea just to purchase a 2nd network cable to plug into the router and the computer.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      silverdogs's Avatar
      silverdogs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem setting up wireless connection

      Doesn't look like I have a WiFi card and I know I don't have a dongle. I do have a second cable, but having them both plugged in at once caused problems and they conflicted with each other (bad cables!). I think I'll have to go and buy a USB adapter then.

      Thanks
      Sarah

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Problem setting up wireless connection

      Quote Originally Posted by silverdogs View Post
      OK, how do I find that out?
      start > run > devmgmt.msc > check 'network adapters' or 'other devices' for any wireless devices.

      If you can't see any wireless card, then you'll need to purchase a wireless dongle/adapter.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Problem setting up wireless connection

      Specifically what error messages do you get when both computers are plugged in?

      Also what operating system do you have on both? (i.e. Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7)

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      silverdogs's Avatar
      silverdogs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem setting up wireless connection

      I'm using XP on both. I can't remember what the message was exactly, something about a conflict. I have now found and installed a usb adapter so now to tackle the rest of the setup.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Problem setting up wireless connection

      You're going to love this (sorry).

      Sorry, but you or your husband have programmed both computers to have the same IP address. Firstly a little background for you:

      Each computer or device connected to your network requires it's own address. With the Sky router, this looks something like 192.168.0.23.

      Early advice was to set a particular address on each computer with Windows 98 & XP, but routers have improved and changes to Windows XP has also helped.

      The Sky router will automatically assign each PC and other device a unique address. In the case of the Sky routers this will normally start with 192.168.0.2 and finish with 192.168.0.253.

      This link will detail how to go about setting an address manually.

      When you get to the part about Manual IP Assigning, there is a picture showing the following options:

      a. Obtain IP address automatically
      b. Use the following address

      Please choose (a) which is not the one in the picture.

      This will also disable the lower choice.

      You will need to do this with both computers. You should then be able to plug a network cable into both of them and connect them to you network at the same time.

      This same mistake can end up being copied onto the WiFi dongle if you are not careful.

      P.S. You can also remove any of the DHCP settings if these have been made
      Last edited by Scubbie; 16-02-11 at 07:37 PM. Reason: added postscript

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      silverdogs's Avatar
      silverdogs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem setting up wireless connection

      Oh hell, why did I ever agree to do this? OK thanks I'll give that a go but I'm scared of losing my connection completely if I mess it up. Was there life before broadband?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION