Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS

    This is a discussion on Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi folks, I have the following hardware: Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS Wireless Bridge Sky Sagem F@ST 2504 Wireless Router/Modem - blue ...

    1. #1
      bertles86's Avatar
      bertles86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS

      Hi folks,

      I have the following hardware:

      Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS Wireless Bridge
      Sky Sagem F@ST 2504 Wireless Router/Modem - blue version

      I've setup the router just fine, but need to repeat the signal, can I use the Netgear WG902 to do that?

      I know the original Netgear WG902 can act as a wireless repeater, but I cannot access this Sky one by IP using a patch cable...any ideas how to set it up to repeat the wireless signal into other rooms of my flat?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS

      Get home plugs - better than Wi-Fi
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      bertles86's Avatar
      bertles86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS

      So can the WG902 not act as a wireless repeater?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS

      I can't even find the product in question so don't know, Google doesn't bring anything up. Is it a wireless adapter?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      bertles86's Avatar
      bertles86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS

      Yup I couldn't find much about it either, the Netgear website has firmware for it though. It is marked as a Wireless Bridge for giving your Sky HD Box a wireless connection to receive Anytime Plus.

      If not I've got one of these spare which is a standard repeater...could that work with the Sky Sagem router or can I not get the settings?

    7. #6
      bertles86's Avatar
      bertles86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS

      Would make any difference if I used an Airties 4420 repeater instead of the netgear?

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS

      Is this a Media Bridge so that you can plug into the back of your Sky+ HD box?

      A similar product was discussed on this forum earlier this week. It required that the bridge was plugged into a PC first and setup to access the router.

      If this is the case, you should have full instructions & a CD sent with the bridge.

      Personally I have recommended the HomePlug/PowerLine Adapter solution. They are relatively more secure. They don't suffer so much from poor speed issues (WiFi can, especially near some TVs) and can potentially cover a larger distance.

      Should you get a HomePlug adapter, you could have one in your garden shed, if it has electric, as well as another behind your Sky STB.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 + Sky Netgear WG902-4SKUKS

      Quote Originally Posted by bertles86 View Post
      Would make any difference if I used an Airties 4420 repeater instead of the netgear?
      The easiest way to find out is to try it. You would have to plug it into your PC first and take it out of router mode, turn off the DHCP server. Give it an address in the range of your router say 192.168.0.100 with 192.168.0.1 as the gateway and server if there is a place to enter the server address. Enter your wireless details, SSID, key etc. Then plug it into your box and see if it is picked up by the box and the router. If it is Bobs your uncle.

      To be honest, I don't think it will work, but I am often wrong.

      Try the same with your WG902. About the only page I can find for it is this - http://certifications.wi-fi.org/pdf_...hp?cid=WFA9426 So it is a Wireless AP. I think you have a better chance of getting this to work than the other one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION