Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    New wireless adapter connected with limited access

    This is a discussion on New wireless adapter connected with limited access within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi. I have just bought a new belkin wireless adapter for my pc but i cannot get the internet. Its ...

    1. #1
      lis's Avatar
      lis
      lis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      Hi. I have just bought a new belkin wireless adapter for my pc but i cannot get the internet. Its says connected with limited access. I cannot connect with cable as too far away. It worked on my laptop with no problems
      Can anybody tell me how to remedy this please.
      I know nothing about the technical side of these things so could you tell me with child talk
      oh and its a sagem router if that makes a difference ????
      Last edited by lis; 17-01-11 at 04:37 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      Have you installed the drivers? Usually you have to partly install them before you plug in the adapter. If you haven't done so, remove the adapter, install the drivers, they will be on the disk you received with the adapter, when prompted, plug in the adapter and complete the installation.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      lis's Avatar
      lis
      lis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      Thanks but have done that and tried uninstalling and installing it again and still no connection.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      When you plug it into your laptop and try to connect from the same position as your PC, can you connect? It could be that your PC is just out of range.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      lis's Avatar
      lis
      lis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      Works fine on laptop from same position, its actually a really good signal. Had an adapter in it before and signal was always ok but for some reason the adapter stopped working, wouldnt work on laptop either so got a new one and now i get the "connected with limited access".??????

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      One thing that can cause this is problems with the security. To check if this is the case go into the wireless settings of the router turn the security off. Router settings>Setup Tab>Tick 'Disable' under Security Options. Reboot your PC, right click the wireless icon in the Tray and select, search for networks. The Sky network should show as 'Unsecured' click Connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      lis's Avatar
      lis
      lis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      Did the above and it says "The settings saved on this computer for the network do not match the requirements of the network" It says the same on this laptop and am now connected with ethernet. I didnt take note of what the security settings was on to put it back. What would it be??

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      Could you mention your OS please? It looks like you will have to clear out the existing settings and start again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      lis's Avatar
      lis
      lis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      Its Windows Vista Home Premium. That sounds complicated

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New wireless adapter connected with limited access

      I am a bit rusty on Vista, but I think you should remove the wireless networks via Control Panel > Network and Sharing Center >'Manage Wireless Networks' in the left pane, right-click/highlight the ones you want to remove (all that are showing) and select remove. When you have done that right click the Tray icon and search for wireless stations. Make sure you are selecting your own router by checking the SSID, you might pick a neighbours.

      If I have got something wrong, I am sure someone will correct me

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      lis (24-01-11)

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION