Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 33

    Connected to router but no internet

    This is a discussion on Connected to router but no internet within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there, Ive searched the forum but to no avail. Just recently signed up to sky and having a problem ...

    1. #1
      RyanCraggs's Avatar
      RyanCraggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connected to router but no internet

      Hi there, Ive searched the forum but to no avail.

      Just recently signed up to sky and having a problem with connecting wirelessly to the laptop which i set the router up on. All other laptops, games consoles, connect fine.

      Ive been on to sky for over an hour for them to say theres a problem with my wireless which makes no sense as its connected to the router just getting no interent. Also, it connected to the virgin media router fine and recieved internet.

      To sum up:

      -Internet connection fine through ethernet cable.
      -Router connection fine wirelessly but no internet.
      -All other laptops connect fine wirelessly.

      Hope someone can help, please ask for any more information.

      Thanks, Ryan.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Try updating the wireless adapter drivers from the manufacturers web site.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      What OS you running on the affected system?

      Open command prompt (start > all programs > accessories > command prompt). Type:

      ping 192.168.0.1

      Reply with the sent, received and lost. If 0% loss, then type the following:

      ping 173.194.37.104

      Again, post up the sent, received and lost. If 0% loss, then type the following:

      ping google.co.uk

      Post up the results of that, also. Also, fire up your ipv4 address, subnet mask and default gateway by typing 'ipconfig' into cmd.

    5. #4
      RyanCraggs's Avatar
      RyanCraggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Try updating the wireless adapter drivers from the manufacturers web site.
      In the process of that now!
      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      What OS you running on the affected system?

      Open command prompt (start > all programs > accessories > command prompt). Type:

      ping 192.168.0.1

      Reply with the sent, received and lost. If 0% loss, then type the following:

      ping 173.194.37.104

      Again, post up the sent, received and lost. If 0% loss, then type the following:

      ping google.co.uk

      Post up the results of that, also. Also, fire up your ipv4 address, subnet mask and default gateway by typing 'ipconfig' into cmd.
      The system is windows vista.

      Do I need to do these instrucions with the ethernet cable unplugged?

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Yep - ensure the ethernet cable is unplugged and that you've 'connected' to the wireless network.

    7. #6
      RyanCraggs's Avatar
      RyanCraggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      ping 192.168.0.1
      sent=4, received=4, lost=0

      ping 173.194.37.104
      sent=4, received=4, lost=0

      ping google.co.uk
      'Ping request could not find host google.co.uk. Please check the name and try again.'


      IPv4 adress: 192.168.0.3
      Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Looks like a DNS issue in that case. Do the following:

      start > control panel > network and sharing centre > 'manage network connections' on the left panel > right click 'wireless network connection' and select properties > go the the ipv4 properties > select 'use the following DNS server address' and enter:

      Preferred DNS: 212.135.1.36
      Alternate DNS: 195.40.1.36

      Click ok and see if you're good to go.

    9. #8
      RyanCraggs's Avatar
      RyanCraggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Looks like a DNS issue in that case. Do the following:

      start > control panel > network and sharing centre > 'manage network connections' on the left panel > right click 'wireless network connection' and select properties > go the the ipv4 properties > select 'use the following DNS server address' and enter:

      Preferred DNS: 212.135.1.36
      Alternate DNS: 195.40.1.36

      Click ok and see if you're good to go.
      No, that didnt work.

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Can you get google's homepage 173.194.37.104 via your browser?

    11. #10
      RyanCraggs's Avatar
      RyanCraggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Looks like a DNS issue in that case. Do the following:

      start > control panel > network and sharing centre > 'manage network connections' on the left panel > right click 'wireless network connection' and select properties > go the the ipv4 properties > select 'use the following DNS server address' and enter:

      Preferred DNS: 212.135.1.36
      Alternate DNS: 195.40.1.36

      Click ok and see if you're good to go.
      No, that didnt work.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION