Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 33

    Connected to router but no internet

    This is a discussion on Connected to router but no internet within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by User05 Can you get google's homepage 173.194.37.104 via your browser? No, just get internet explorer cannot display ...

    1. #11
      RyanCraggs's Avatar
      RyanCraggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Can you get google's homepage 173.194.37.104 via your browser?
      No, just get internet explorer cannot display the webpage.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Changing DNS settings should not affect your other laptop(s). If you've changed IP settings within that properties window, then ensure you select 'obtain an ip address automatically'. Restart the laptops and reboot the router after you've done that. Then try browsing to '173.194.37.104' and see if google's homepage appears.

    4. #13
      RyanCraggs's Avatar
      RyanCraggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Changing DNS settings should not affect your other laptop(s). If you've changed IP settings within that properties window, then ensure you select 'obtain an ip address automatically'. Restart the laptops and reboot the router after you've done that. Then try browsing to '173.194.37.104' and see if google's homepage appears.
      Sorry, i made a mistake the other laptop was fine.

      Done all that and still no luck.

    5. #14
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Open cmd again and type ipconfig/all. Reply with the ipv4 address, subnet mask, default gateway and also the DNS servers.

      Also, ping another website, such as:

      ping www .bbc.co.uk

      ^ Without the space after the 'www', of course.

      You could also try OpenDNS (OpenDNS | Internet Navigation And Security) whilst you're at it, but those addresses I gave you should work no problems.

      If the ipconfig figures looks fine, then it's possibly firewall related. What antivirus/firewall do you run?

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Just to rule out software problems, can you try starting in Safe Mode with Networking. See if you can connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      RyanCraggs's Avatar
      RyanCraggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Open cmd again and type ipconfig/all. Reply with the ipv4 address, subnet mask, default gateway and also the DNS servers.

      Also, ping another website, such as:

      ping www .bbc.co.uk

      ^ Without the space after the 'www', of course.

      You could also try OpenDNS (OpenDNS | Internet Navigation And Security) whilst you're at it, but those addresses I gave you should work no problems.

      If the ipconfig figures looks fine, then it's possibly firewall related. What antivirus/firewall do you run?
      IPv4: 192.168.0.3
      Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
      DNS Servers: 212.135.1.36
      195. 40.1.36

      tried the bbc one and same as google.

      I have kaspersky antivirus and have tried connecting with with firewall off.

    8. #17
      RyanCraggs's Avatar
      RyanCraggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Just to rule out software problems, can you try starting in Safe Mode with Networking. See if you can connect.
      Sorry to be stupid. How do i start in safe mode?

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      I'm pretty sure now it is a software problem. Try SafeMode with Networking, I have seen problems before with the Kapersky suite, the fire wall is often on even when you switch it off.

      Restart your PC and start tapping F8 as soon as the Post screen appears.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      to boot into safe mode, restart the PC but as it's booting tap the F8 key repeatedly until you get a boot menu. Use the keyboard to select 'Safe Mode with networking' and allow it to boot...I think wireless works in Vista in safe mode, if not use Ethernet

      Problem with AV software is even though you disable them they still run. Safe mode won't even start them so you can definitely see if its a software issue
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connected to router but no internet

      .I think wireless works in Vista in safe mode, if not use Ethernet
      The ethernet works so there is not much point trying that.

      Some have difficulty with the F8 method, if you do open the Run box and type msconfig and hit enter. When the pane opens choose the Boot tab then tick Safe boot and Networking. Click apply and reboot.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION