Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

    This is a discussion on Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello..... I really hope someone can help me..... I've got a Sky Sagem router, with a NAS attached (via ethernet). ...

    1. #1
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      Hello.....

      I really hope someone can help me.....

      I've got a Sky Sagem router, with a NAS attached (via ethernet). I bought a wireless N router, with the aim of attaching it to the Sagem, providing me with wireless N.

      However, I can't get the setup to work. I guess I need a complete idiot's guide! I've gone into the Sagem, changed its DHCP range from a max of 254 to 100. I then went into the Buffalo (wireless N), set its IP to 192.168.0.254 (outside the Sagem's DHCP range), and disabled the Buffalo's DHCP server. Job done?

      However, if I connect via the Buffalo, I can't see my nas at all. If I go in via my Sagem, it's there. If I try and connect to the Buffalo with my Samsung Galaxy phone, it just sits there trying to "obtain address". Any ideas what I have managed to b@lls up, with a supposedly straightforward "upgrade"? Yes, I am a clown.

      Thanks, and I have my fingers tightly crossed!

      Matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      Ok, I've stumbled across a small part of the solution - I needed to set the default gateway and the dns server in the buffalo to the sagem's ip address (192.168.0.1)

      Does this sound correct, even slightly?

    4. #3
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      305
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      First check: Have you connected a LAN port of the Sagem to the WAN port of the Buffalo?

      If the Sagem is on 192.168.0.1 then the Buffalo needs to be on a different gateway - using a completely different range will avoid confusion, like 10.0.0.1. Everything connected to the Buffalo will then have an address in the 10.0.0.x range.

    5. #4
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      Hhmmm,

      The Sagem is connected from one if its LANs to a port titled "internet" on the Buffalo (as per the Buffalo's exceptionally crude instructions - but I'm not shifting the blame, I'm still a clown).

      Sorry, I'm a bit confused now.....I thought I was just meant to move the Buffalo's IP address out of the Sagem's DHCP range?

      I'm also confused as to how the nas, whilst connected to the Sagem, will ever be visible to the Buffalo (and all its wireless clients).

      As you can tell, I'm - in short - confused.

      Thanks for your time, and patience,

      Matt

    6. #5
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      305
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      "Internet" = WAN, so that's ok

      You are correct about the IP address range of the second router. There is a way to link equipment across routers, but it's quite tricky. If you have spare ports on the Buffalo router, just plug the NAS into it.

      If you still can't see it, check the firewall settings in the Sagem and turn on the DMZ with the IP address of the other router as allocated by the Sagem (e.g. if your Sagem is 192.168.0.1 it's probably 192.168.0.2)

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to SadBloke For This Useful Post:

      mjnelson (25-10-10)

    8. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      This can be a confusing thing to do, so lets start again.

      On the Sagem sky router.

      (1) disconnect everthing and do a factory reset, to get the router back to standard settings.

      (2) Disable wireless, DHCP, UPnP and check that Remote management is also disabled.

      (3) Select WAN set-up and set the DMZ to 192.168.0.2 while you are there, uncheck respond to ping.

      (4) log out of Sky router and connect one of the LAN ports to the WAN port of the Bufflo router.

      On the Buffalo

      (1) select fixed IP on the WAN set up page (it might be called static ip or something like that)

      (2) Set IP to 192.168.0.2
      Set subnet to 255.255.255.0
      Set gateway to 192.168.0.1
      you can set DNS to Open DNS if you like, or leave it alone. (Open DNS is 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

      You should now be able to access the Internet using your Buffalo, which is now handleing all router functions, so connect the NAS to it.
      Last edited by Brian69; 25-10-10 at 11:20 AM.

    9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Brian69 For This Useful Post:

      Muthaducka (26-10-10),robradical (09-02-11)

    10. #7
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      Thanks ever so much for the details. Before I get home tonight and begin butchering my setup again...can I just check whether I need the buffalo's dhcp server enabled, and its upnp enabled?

      Thanks,

      Matt

    11. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      Quote Originally Posted by mjnelson View Post
      Thanks ever so much for the details. Before I get home tonight and begin butchering my setup again...can I just check whether I need the buffalo's dhcp server enabled, and its upnp enabled?

      Thanks,

      Matt
      Yes.

      So long as the Buffalo uses an IP range which is differant to the Sagem all will be well.

      As an example, My Billion router is connected in the same fashion. (fixed IP 192.168.0.2 gateway 192.168.0.1 subnet 255.255.255.0 and I use Open DNS) The billion IP is 192.168.1.254 and the DHCP range is 192.168.1.100 to 192.168.1.199

      The Sky Sagem router is now in effect acting as just a modem, so the only thing you want connected to it is the Buffalo router.
      Last edited by Brian69; 25-10-10 at 04:37 PM.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Brian69 For This Useful Post:

      mjnelson (25-10-10)

    13. #9
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      Brilliant, cheers for that. I'll re-attempt my seamless hardware integration tonight!

      Much appreciated,

      Matt

    14. #10
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router + wireless N router + me = a mess

      Ok....back again.

      I've followed the above instructions....and it looks like I can access the internet, but I still cannot see the nas.....and it's plugged into the Buffalo?!

      What can I have messed up?

      Sorry for how long this is taking.....

      Matt

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION