Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 42

    Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

    This is a discussion on Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey guys I am not too sure whats going on but every time i am conencted to the Sagem router ...

    1. #1
      styla's Avatar
      styla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      Hey guys

      I am not too sure whats going on but every time i am conencted to the Sagem router wirelessly using a laptop it will show signal strength as 5/4 bars but all of a sudden No Internet will be recevied and it will kick me out. Now distance wise i am defineitnly not too faaar away anyways?


      SO i believe:

      1. Sagem router is not the best(weak in terms of wireless signal)
      2. Sky firmware Issue (Maybe the generic firmware will fix it)


      Secondly i realised the max speed i get is about 12000 whereas last time i called sky and complained i ended up being boosted to 16000 does that mean sky cap speed?

      Also if yes what would be the best procedure to test the max my line can handle and how should i go about getting this fixed?



      Thanks so much


      regards

      styla


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      Sky run DLM which adjusts line speed according to what the line can handle and locks it there. If you post up your full router statistics we can advise you the max you can receive. As for your wireless issues change the wireless channel on the router to one which doesnt match or overlap any of your neighbouring wifi networks (use inssider to scan for these)

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      styla's Avatar
      styla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      i seeeeeee hmmm ill give this a go tonight ok will post full router stats tonight

      thnx so much for the reply

    5. #4
      styla's Avatar
      styla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      ok am at home now so result of test is:

      ADSL Link Downstream-------------- Upstream
      Connection Speed 10238 kbps --------------- 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 db--------------- 10.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db--------------- 17.7 db




      So what could i possibly be getting and how?

      Please note i havent made any changes to router what so ever it is as it came so faaar.

      I do remember having my downstream at 14000 kbps in the past not sure whats happening called sky and they said max u should be getting is 3.2mbps according to there test , altho last time i called they said 16mb :S any ideas?>
      Last edited by styla; 17-09-10 at 11:14 PM.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      You should be able to get a lot more upstream, but as things stand you are on the limit for downstream.

      Post your stats from the Test socket.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      styla's Avatar
      styla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      on the limit so i am getting the speed i can at maximum or am i being capped?

      You reckon the test socket will make a tsdifference in terms of stats?

    8. #7
      styla's Avatar
      styla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should be able to get a lot more upstream, but as things stand you are on the limit for downstream.

      Post your stats from the Test socket.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket
      Bro opened the port its so old and there seems to be no test prot inside at odl can also barely open it seems extremely OLDDDD! Its painted all over it so even opening it fully is a mission.

      hmmmmmmmmmmm im totally confused whats happening:S

    9. #8
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      If you dont have a test socket you can always unplug the extension wiring from the back of it and then try the router in the master socket.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    10. #9
      styla's Avatar
      styla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      If you dont have a test socket you can always unplug the extension wiring from the back of it and then try the router in the master socket.
      did that once before made no different to stats to be honest...

      something seems strange sky have told me max i can get is 3.6mb and last time i called i was told 16mb so hmmmm either sky got it wrong or something is wrong in the line maybe not too sure

      i have been getting speeds of 13/14 in the past, you rekon flashing the sagem router could do the change?

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky sagem wireless keeps loosing internet

      Flashing the Sagem wont help, you need to reduce the noise on the line and the best way to do this is to isolate the socket by removing the extensions from it as advised.

      To get your best connection your end, you should change the current master socket for a new NTE5 type and a filtered faceplate.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION