Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed!

    This is a discussion on Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi Guys It's me back again with a new problem, if anyone can help me, please do. Okay so I ...

    1. #1
      simon7685's Avatar
      simon7685 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Scarborough
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed!

      Hi Guys

      It's me back again with a new problem, if anyone can help me, please do.

      Okay so I now have all laptops in the house able to connect wirelessly. I also have a Belkin Wireless G Print Server, which used to allow me to print wirelessly as well. Since switching to SKY I can't get it to connect to the SKY router.

      Can anyone help me with any ideas of how to manually connect something to a SKY router?

      With this print server, when you switch it on it automatically connects to the router. I can't find it when I access the router the router settings page and I don't know how to get the IP address of the print server to access its settings page. I have tried using a network cable between the print server and my laptop but still can't access it.

      I am probably doing it all wrong, so any help appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed!

      The manual will give you the instructions, and the default IP address to connect to the server. After that it's just connect it to the router and it should just work
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed!

      Gleaned from Belkin support -
      If you are using one of our stand alone print servers, hold the white button in the back of the printer server for 3 seconds and let go. This will make the printer print a test page with the IP address for the print server on it.
      The printer server may have to be reset to enable it to pick up an address from the Sky router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      simon7685's Avatar
      simon7685 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Scarborough
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed!

      I tried to reset it by holding in the power button while powering it up. It does reset then the wlan light blinks, then goes steady, which is supposed to mean it has connected wirelessly but it still won't print. When I log into my sky router to see what devices are attached to it the print server isn't there, even after refreshing.

      When I bought it from Ebay, it came without the manual, so I got one from the belkin website and I can't find the IP address for it in that manual. When I first installed it (on Plusnet Thomson router), I just did the reset thing and it connected to the router and I was able to print no problem. It worked fine until I changed.

      I know I must be doing something wrong but I just don't know what. It doesn't help not really being computer literate.

    6. #5
      simon7685's Avatar
      simon7685 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Scarborough
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed!

      Will it make any difference if I connect the print server to the router using an ethernet cable? I can't have the printer plugged into print server at that point though as they are nowhere near each other.

    7. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed!

      Theres no way to just get it to connect by pressing a reset button, it needs to be given an SSID and wpa password for it to be able to connect. I would suggest you go back to your manual and carefully follow the instructions for a new installation.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed!

      It might be an idea to plug it in with ethernet for a period, see if it appears on the attached device list.
      Did the printer turn out a test page with its IP when you press the white button on the server?

      I think the basic problem is that it is still looking for the old router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Wireless Nightmare - Round 2 - help needed!

      Upon reading the instruction manual for this model I can only conclude that you have to connect it via ethernet first, run the setup wizard and setup the wireless settings before you can have it connecting wirelessly.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION