Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

    This is a discussion on Sky wireless broadband issues !!! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, can someone please help, I've had sky broadband for over a year now, all's been well up to around ...

    1. #1
      widdow's Avatar
      widdow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

      Hi,

      can someone please help, I've had sky broadband for over a year now, all's been well up to around a week ago, both my laptops and ipod could connect wireless, but all of a sudden I have to wire both laptops to the router and the ipod won't connect, all devices can see my router but just won't connect.

      Surely it can't be my computers or ipod as they were connecting without any issues until recently,

      Any ideas?

      Thanks

      Shaun Widdowson


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

      Open a browser
      Type 192.168.0.1 into the address bar
      Username is 'admin' and password is 'sky' without the quotations
      Click 'set-up' in the top left
      Change the channel from auto to something else
      Apply

      Try reconnecting.

    4. #3
      widdow's Avatar
      widdow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

      Hi There

      thanks for the reply, my channel is set to 7, the same channel it's been set to ever since I called sky support when I first got the router

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

      Have you tried resetting the router?

    6. #5
      widdow's Avatar
      widdow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

      sure have matey, on several occasions, it's becoming annoying now as I'm paying for a wireless service I'm simply not receiving.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

      Download Inssider from the link below and use it to discover the the channels in use in your area. Set your channel to one as far from those in use as possible. There is a good chance someone is now using channel 7 and it is interfering with your router.
      Incidentally, you are paying for the broadband connection, the wireless is free.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

      Well, I gotta go get ready for work, but a few quick suggestions:

      Reset the router for a good 10 seconds to set back to factory settings. Change the ssid and channel, apply and try again. Only thing after that is to try changing/disabling the encryption and trying to reconnect. Again, if still no joy on any of the devices, then it sounds like the router needs replaced.

    9. #8
      widdow's Avatar
      widdow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

      yeah I am paying as I've gone over my download limit a few times,

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky wireless broadband issues !!!

      As I said, you are paying for the broadband, the wireless is free.

      You should remove your telephone number from your profile. The exchange name/code is all that is necessary. I think you are on EMLONGB

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION