Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Setup problems?

    This is a discussion on Setup problems? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, I have had my Sky talk and broadband activated today so I have installed my new house phone ...

    1. #1
      macka09's Avatar
      macka09 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Setup problems?

      Hi all, I have had my Sky talk and broadband activated today so I have installed my new house phone and the wireless router that Sky sent me. Problem is, on set up it says to have the phone line and adsl cable adapter plugged directly into the phone line port in the wall. I can't do that as I have my Sky+HD box plugged in and my phone line and the modem. So I have a 2 way splitter directly in the phone socket with 1 line going to the Sky+HD box and the other has the adapter connected with my phone line and internet cable. Will this affect my internet speed or the Sky box? Any info would be great, thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Setup problems?

      Pull that adapter out, put the filter in the first then the Sky+HD adapter into the filter...the filter HAS to be in the socket first, no exceptions
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      macka09's Avatar
      macka09 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setup problems?

      Without the adapter in their I can't have the box the modem and the phone plugged in???

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Setup problems?

      You need to fit a double adaptor into the phone side of the ADSL filter to allow you to plug in the phone and receiver.

      You MUST plug the filter directly into the socket as the FIRST thing going into it, if you don't then your connection will suffer.

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Setup problems?



      MF = microfilter. Splitter into the 'phone' port of the filter. DSL cable into the 'modem' port.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Setup problems?

      He has another thread running on this too!!! can we get them merged???

    8. #7
      macka09's Avatar
      macka09 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setup problems?

      sorry for 2 posts, i did try to delete 1

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION