Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    please help !!!

    This is a discussion on please help !!! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I recently changed my broadband from bt to sky and with bt i could connect both of my laptops to ...

    1. #1
      djwilliamson's Avatar
      djwilliamson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down please help !!!

      I recently changed my broadband from bt to sky and with bt i could connect both of my laptops to the router but with sky i can only connect one of them. the laptop i can connect is windows xp but i cant run my laptop with windows vista. i can only connect if i use a wire but it never works when i try it wirelessly. i went on to my wireless settings and it was on WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key) and when i tried connecting with my windows vista it kept saying the connection timed out, i then changed the settings to WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy) and it connected fine but it was so slow and pretty much pointless using. Is there anyway i can make my windows vista connect using the WPA-PSK ?

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: please help !!!

      Sounds like an incompatible wireless adapter on your vista laptop. Which wireless adapter is it and have you updated the drivers?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      djwilliamson's Avatar
      djwilliamson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help !!!

      its the sagem one from sky and i think all my drivers are updated how do i check ?

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: please help !!!

      I asked about the wireless adapter not the router! If you dont tell me which wireless adapter is in the laptop then I cant tell you how to update the drivers for it.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      djwilliamson's Avatar
      djwilliamson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help !!!

      ohh sorry, ermm im not sure which one it is how do i find out ? sorry about all this

    7. #6
      djwilliamson's Avatar
      djwilliamson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help !!!

      i think ive found it, its a Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter but it says its up do date when i update it

    8. #7
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: please help !!!

      Quote Originally Posted by djwilliamson View Post
      i think ive found it, its a Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter but it says its up do date when i update it
      Uninstall it, restart the laptop and it should auto detect new hardware and reinstall itself.

    9. #8
      djwilliamson's Avatar
      djwilliamson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help !!!

      ive done that, tried connecting and it says Wireless Authentication failed because of a timeout

    10. #9
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: please help !!!

      Go to Atheros's website and download the latest driver. I've experienced this problem before with some atheros cards being incompatible with WPA and certain routers.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: please help !!!

      Have you tried changing the wireless channel in the router from Auto to another channel. Try 13 for a start.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION