Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Can't connect via the Wireless

    This is a discussion on Can't connect via the Wireless within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I can't connect to my SKY router wireless. I reported this problem to Sky back in Dec 09, since then ...

    1. #1
      Quaker's Avatar
      Quaker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't connect via the Wireless

      I can't connect to my SKY router wireless. I reported this problem to Sky back in Dec 09, since then i have been supplied a new router which worked for a few days and then stopped working after that. At the moment i am connecting via the ethernet cable which is a pain in the ****.
      Occasionally my computer will connect wireless out of the blue but does not last long. I think the problem lies with the router because my Wii can't connect to it either, however Sky seems to think it is either my Computer or Interference in the house.
      Will a more powerful router be the answer?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Can't connect via the Wireless

      Have you got a cordless phone base station anywhere near your router?
      Have you tried changing the wireless channel on the router?
      Does you laptop connect reliably with a friends wireless router?


    4. #3
      colinblack1's Avatar
      colinblack1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect via the Wireless

      I have had the exact same problem with my Sky wireless router, however I was told by Sky that my wireless box was out of warranty so I have purchased a new Netgear DG834G Wireless-G Modem Router.

      My problem is that when setting up my new router is asks for my internet login and password. I have tried my Sky.com login and password and my old router SSID and Network key however neither appears to be the answer.

      Does anyone know what login information my new router requires?

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Can't connect via the Wireless

      You have to get your settings out of the sky router, the log in details for the router that you know are just for logging into the router admin pages.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't connect via the Wireless

      Sky seems to think it is ..................................... Interference in the house.
      They are probably correct. Have you tried changing the Channel? Download and use Inssider from the link below and use it to discover the channels in use in your area. Use a channel as far from those in use as possible.

      Wireless will never be as stable and fast as ethernet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION