Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Windows 7 a sky router

    This is a discussion on Windows 7 a sky router within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi Can anyone help me? I have a new pc running Windows 7 and my Sky router is a Sagem. ...

    1. #1
      dj.s's Avatar
      dj.s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Windows 7 a sky router

      Hi
      Can anyone help me?

      I have a new pc running Windows 7 and my Sky router is a Sagem. On my new computer I am unable to connect via wireless. Anyone else had the same problem or does anyone know what the problem might be?
      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 a sky router

      It won't be windows 7 causing it. Can you see your Sky SSID? If so when you click on it is it asking for a network key / pass phrase? Have you changed the password at all or set a MAC filter on the router itself?
      I would start of by accessing 192.168.0.1 on your pc by ethernet and check what settings are in the "wireless settings" page.

    4. #3
      dj.s's Avatar
      dj.s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 a sky router

      Yes I can see the Sky SSID. I have already entered the network key/pass phrase key, but it just says it cannot connect to my Sky router. I am running the same router on XP and it is fine. Will check my settings though.

    5. #4
      andyjsk's Avatar
      andyjsk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ruddington/02prem
      Broadband ISP: o2 prem.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      ruddington
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 a sky router

      had a similar problem myself plugged in the netgear dongle and a box popped up to tell me installation failed no driver found .netgear was no help new driver on its way but no timescale for it,sky said contact netgear,so having already done that i looked at e buyer site and found a suitable wirelesss adaptor that was plug and play with windows seven .problem solved .look on maplins website theres a couple at least listed

    6. #5
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Windows 7 a sky router

      i have used xp vista and windows 7 with netgear black sky router all have worked perfectly

    7. #6
      dj.s's Avatar
      dj.s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 a sky router

      My computer is wireless enabled. Could I add a dongle as well? The Netgear dongle supplied by Sky which is a WG111V2 is NOT compatible with Windows 7, so I would have to buy another one which would hopefully do the trick.

    8. #7
      Mr Spouse's Avatar
      Mr Spouse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Somewhere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 a sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by dj.s View Post
      My computer is wireless enabled. Could I add a dongle as well? The Netgear dongle supplied by Sky which is a WG111V2 is NOT compatible with Windows 7, so I would have to buy another one which would hopefully do the trick.
      Two things to try:
      1. Turn off the wireless security on your router and see if you can connect. That tells you it's a software/password issue

      2. There are Vista drivers for the WG111V2 on drivermax.com if you're ok about downloading their scanning software to get them.

    9. #8
      dj.s's Avatar
      dj.s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 a sky router

      Many thanks for the replies, I may still have to use them!
      Here is a good laugh for you all though. After taking my new computer back to PC World, the assistant asked a few questions. The first one was 'have I got a signal'. I said yes, but very low. He said 'had I connected the aerial?' I said aerial? Where does this go? He said 'here!' I said there was no aerial in the box. He said that's where your problem is then!
      PC World have ordered me an aerial, so hopefully I'll be running wireless very soon!!

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 a sky router

      Tell them that you want a couple of homeplugs as compensation for all your wasted time etc, much better than any wireless.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION