Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Regarding WPA-PSK.

    This is a discussion on Regarding WPA-PSK. within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; First off, hello! thank god i found you guys. Next my problem. My computer upstairs (the good one) has just ...

    1. #1
      Redsimmy's Avatar
      Redsimmy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: dont know.
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Regarding WPA-PSK.

      First off, hello! thank god i found you guys. Next my problem. My computer upstairs (the good one) has just took a funny turn. It disconnected itself from the internet and is refusing to reconnect. So i diagnose the problem and my security key is wrong, im asked to make sure its correct. Which it is and yet it still fails to connect. All other wireless capable technology (Wii, PS3 etc) connect fine with the security key. And yet the good computer fails to recognise it as the correct key. Anyone got any idea what could be my problem here?

      Ive rebooted, reinstalled and re-everything i could think of before searching for you guys. Any help in any shape or form is muchly appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Regarding WPA-PSK.

      To confirm that it is the security key, turn off the security in the router and see if it will connect. If it still cannot connect that points to the security in your PC. Maybe a firewall or AV update which is stopping the connection.

      If it does connect without security, try changing your security key, see if that makes any difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Redsimmy's Avatar
      Redsimmy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: dont know.
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Regarding WPA-PSK.

      To be a pain. how would i turn the security off? And incase it is the securty key, how would i change that? Bit of a noob when it comes to wireless connection and such. thanks in advance

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Regarding WPA-PSK.

      In your browser type:

      192.168.0.1

      then in the pop up window type:

      Username : admin
      Password: sky

      Then on the left hand side bar click on Wireless and in the security section click on Disable.

      Then SAVE

      That will leave you running without any WiFi security. Try your computer. Does it connect?
      If it does then it's the security key, if it doesn't its something on your computer.

      Post back when you've tried.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Regarding WPA-PSK.

      Go into the router settings, Wireless set up and tick the box next to Disable under security options. To put it back on select the WPA radio button.

      To change the WPA-PSK security key, highlight and delete the existing key, which will be 8 capital letters and replace it with one of your choice. It can consist of anything you can type on your keyboard from 8 to 63 characters. Remember to click Apply or it will not be saved.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Redsimmy's Avatar
      Redsimmy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: dont know.
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Regarding WPA-PSK.

      Right. you guys are officially legends. When security is switched off the computer does infact work. Which is excellent. However i dont want to have an unsecured network, and someone, somehow change my security key. Is there a virus that can do such a thing? Any feedback is good feedback. thanks

    8. #7
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Regarding WPA-PSK.

      Type in a new Security Key and SAVE it.

      Go to Maintenance on the side bar and select Change Password (just use one you will remember) and and save it.

      Then on the log-in screen for your router the Password is the new one you have entered.

      I'm not aware of a virus that would change your Security Key but changing the Password for the router will make it more difficult for others to access the router.

      Now change the Security Key on your various computers etc.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION