Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

    This is a discussion on Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi guys, So I just bought a Acer today, and I was hoping to get wireless straight away but realized ...

    1. #1
      Dazarooo's Avatar
      Dazarooo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

      Hi guys,
      So I just bought a Acer today, and I was hoping to get wireless straight away but realized it's not so simple. I can't connect to the Internet via Wireless at all.. but can see other peoples connections. the settings look okay on my router, unfortunately I've been peeing around with them all day, but I was wondering if someone could help me finally get rid of this problem !

      Thanks,

      Merry Christmas to all,

      Regards,


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Dazarooo's Avatar
      Dazarooo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

      Thank-you for the quick reply, however, I've already used this tut

      Regards,

    5. #4
      Dazarooo's Avatar
      Dazarooo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

      What I cannot do though, is add a wireless station... it complains about the radios or something

      Regards,

    6. #5
      Dazarooo's Avatar
      Dazarooo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

      I get this pacific error when I try to move it to Available Wireless Statins:

      No entry selected.
      Click a radio button to select an entry.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

      Make sure the router has WPA selected and then put your pass phrase in. Use a simple one for now, ie christmas09 and then try using that pass phrase on the laptop.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Dazarooo's Avatar
      Dazarooo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

      I have a WPA-PSK key at the moment which is my network key,

      so basically the same, but no luck ''/

      Regards,

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

      No entry selected.
      Click a radio button to select an entry.
      That means you have not click the radio button for the station you want to select. A radio button is like an 'O' which a dot appears in when you select it.

      I think you are probably using the Acer wireless manager, you would be better using the Windows one. To do this go to the Control Panel and open the Network Connections. Right click the Wireless adapter and select properties. On the Wireless connections tab, click the box at the top which says 'Use Windows to configure my wireless settings'. Click the View Wireless Networks button, select your network and fill in the details.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

      Totally agree - use the Windows Wireless Manager. I do on my Acer laptop with Windows 7.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just bought a new Acer today with windows 7, can't see my wireless?

      Sorry I may have led you astray. In Windows 7, to get to the adapter settings, press the Windows key and type lan ip and press Enter. Right click the adapter and carry on as above.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION