Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Encryption Code

    This is a discussion on Encryption Code within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Can anyone please help. My original Netgear sky router (white) does not provide a signal strong enough for xbox etc ...

    1. #1
      moore29margaret's Avatar
      moore29margaret is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 015
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Encryption Code

      Can anyone please help. My original Netgear sky router (white) does not provide a signal strong enough for xbox etc in another part of the house. I have purchased another Netgear router but need the user name and password to set it up. Sky can't give me the info but say the info is embedded in the original router! How do I access it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Encryption Code

      You either need to use a tool on here or flash it with the firmware you can get here.

      How to obtain your username and password from the sky router

      FW guide: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-flash.html

    4. #3
      moore29margaret's Avatar
      moore29margaret is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 015
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Encryption Code

      thank you, I will try and then let you know............really appreciate your help.

    5. #4
      moore29margaret's Avatar
      moore29margaret is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 015
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Encryption Code

      Re: quick reply
      I am trying to follow instructions but have a problem - following the upgrade wizard.exe at the point it says select network card it lists 2 options. (1) atheros ar5b93 wireless network adaptor or (2) broadcom netlink (tm) gigabyte ethernet. Either option says could not get system information correctly exit and execute rmdrv.exe - this doesnt work. Any ideas please? thank you

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Encryption Code

      Are you using xp, vista or Win7.

      If i remember correctly you need to use xp and even then it can be flaky, so try another xp pc to do it.

    7. #6
      moore29margaret's Avatar
      moore29margaret is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 015
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Encryption Code

      using windows 7, am I past the point of no return? - thanks for replying

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Encryption Code

      I would try it on a PC with XP iirc - Windows 7 is based on Vista so could be the issue. It was with Vista anyway.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Encryption Code

      You could just connect the new router to the sky router, turn off wireless on the sky router and use the new router for the wirless connection. Sounds complicated i know, but it really is simple. Just a suggestion!

    10. #9
      moore29margaret's Avatar
      moore29margaret is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 015
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Encryption Code

      Thanks, tried that but the new router asks for encryption codes that are embedded into sky routers! I'm just trying to get the codes. Thanks

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Encryption Code

      If you piggy back the routers as suggested then you would not need the codes because you would be using the Sky router to connect to the exchange and the new router for everything else.

      Also, you're not breaking the T&C's.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION