Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Wireless signal stops!

    This is a discussion on Wireless signal stops! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Between 8:30 and 9:30 almost every night my wireless signal disappears. I can connect using LAN but not wirelessly. The ...

    1. #1
      tubbytony's Avatar
      tubbytony is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01782
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless signal stops!

      Between 8:30 and 9:30 almost every night my wireless signal disappears. I can connect using LAN but not wirelessly.

      The wireless light is still green and my laptop and Ipod occasionally pickup the ssid but I can't join.

      Any ideas? Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Wireless signal stops!

      What channel number is the router on or is it on Auto? Could just be someone nearby causing interference on the channel and you need to change channel to a clean one.

    4. #3
      tubbytony's Avatar
      tubbytony is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01782
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless signal stops!

      It's setup as it came out of the box - I'm assuming that would be auto.

      How do I change the channel?

      Thanks

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless signal stops!

      Go into the wireless setting of the router. Type http://192.168.0.1 in your browser address bar, put in admin for the username and sky for the pass word. Click the Wireless Settings link and you will see where to change the channel. Start at 13 and work your way down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      tubbytony's Avatar
      tubbytony is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01782
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless signal stops!

      The signal went off last night at 8:30 as usual so went onto my wired PC and changed the channel to 13 and what do you know the wireless signal came straight back and was working for the rest of the evening!

      Thanks for all your help -this has been bugging me for months.

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless signal stops!

      If you want to know what wireless channels are in use in your area, download and run inSSIDer | MetaGeek

      This'll give you an idea on the best one to choose.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless signal stops!

      The signal went off last night at 8:30 as usual
      It could be someone logging in at this time each night which interferes with your signal. Another likely cause could be a microwave or some other EM source being switched on. If it starts dropping again, you will know what to try first

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Wireless signal stops!

      Always the first question when it comes to wireless on some router, Auto does not always help things.

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Wireless signal stops!

      Just to add a little to the thread - I have both the phase 2 netgear and sagem and checked out every channel on each router whilst connect to my laptop. Results (which I know will vary in different premises) were that the netgear router outperformed the sagem in signal strength via the wireless network connection icon signal and inSSIDer. I've also only seen 'auto' channel on the phase 2 sagems work on the odd occasion but it worked just fine for me strangely, albeit quite a low signal strength.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION