Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Wireless Adaptor

    This is a discussion on Wireless Adaptor within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; HELP I have recently brought a new computer, a Packard Bell Imedia with Windows Vista. I have tried to install ...

    1. #1
      bhahoju's Avatar
      bhahoju is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Wireless Adaptor

      HELP

      I have recently brought a new computer, a Packard Bell Imedia with Windows Vista.

      I have tried to install netgear onto the computer but get a message saying no driver detected. I can connect to internet via ethernet cable with no problems but need to be able to use wireless connection as computer will be in different room to main connection. I've downloaded an update for netgear but when I connect the adaptor nothing happens (I know the USB ports work as I've tried other usb devices in them) any ideas what the problem could be?????

      Will I have to buy a new Netgear package/adaptor?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Adaptor

      Go to the Programs and features and uninstall the Netgear software. Reboot your PC after doing the uninstall to be sure everything has been removed. Use the latest driver you have downloaded and if you get the choice do not install the Netgear Wireless Manager, choose to use the Windows one. Do not insert the adapter in your PC until you are told to do so during the installation procedure. Plug the adapter directly into one of the motherboard ports, don't use a hub.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      bhahoju's Avatar
      bhahoju is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Wireless Adaptor

      I've managed to solve the problem, thanks.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Adaptor

      I've managed to solve the problem, thanks
      It helps other users if you say how.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      bhahoju's Avatar
      bhahoju is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Adaptor

      I uninstalled everything like you said and then I re-installed the updated Netgear software that I had downloaded.

      When prompted I inserted the "WG111T Adaptor" into the motherboard port but it still wouldn't work, so I removed the adaptor and then re-inserted it.

      A windows box came up asking if I would like to browse to install the device or automatically install it, I choose to do it automatically but it found nothing I then decided to browse to find the driver and found it tucked away in the Netgear folder.

      I followed the wizard and then typed in my SSID name and password and it connected fine to the internet from there.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION