Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Wireless Connected but cant get on internet!

    This is a discussion on Wireless Connected but cant get on internet! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; HI all, Am new to this so please excuse me! Also have little IT knowledge! Just signed up to sky ...

    1. #1
      MrsRobbo's Avatar
      MrsRobbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post Wireless Connected but cant get on internet!

      HI all,

      Am new to this so please excuse me! Also have little IT knowledge!
      Just signed up to sky broadband. Set up was fine, with sagem ADSL router. Can connect through ethernet cable. When trying to connect via wireless it just wont work! Am using a Linksys Dual Band adaptor which says it is connected (excellent signal strength) so I dont understand what is going wrong. Rang sky but hopeless. Does anyone have any ideas?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connected but cant get on internet!

      You could always try enabling wireless with in router settings perhaps

    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connected but cant get on internet!

      Insert the ethernet cable and open browser > type in 192.168.0.1 to the address bar and enter > username : password is admin : sky > click set up in the top left.

      You'll be in the wireless settings section within the router settings.

      Now change the channel from AUTO-06 if the channel is indeed 'AUTO'. Go down and click 'apply' at the bottom of the page and wait for it to refresh. Now do the following:

      If it is windows xp -

      Start > control panel > network connections > right click wireless network connection > view available wireless networks > 'change advanced settings' in the bottom right > wireless networks tab > place a tick in the top tick box if there is not one and then remove every 'preferred network' from the list below > click ok and then reconnect up to the sky network entering your network key all in capitals.

      If it is telling you that 'windows cannot configure this wireless connection' and that you have no 'wireless networks' tab within the advanced settings, then do the next few steps and come back to the above step and repeat after the following:

      Start > run > type 'services.msc' > scroll to the bottom of the window and right click 'wireless zero configuration' > properties > make sure the startup type is 'automatic' and that the 'service status' is started. If it is started, then stop it and start again.

      Also, if you can open up the linksys wireless utility (it will be found in the task bar in the bottom right of your screen) and make sure 'wireless zero configuration' is selected to configure your wireless network connection rather than the linksys utility. It will be some kind of option within there so just make sure you have a good look and apply it.

      See if that works. If not, reply back with exactly what sky had you do on the phone to the best of your memory.

    5. #4
      MrsRobbo's Avatar
      MrsRobbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connected but cant get on internet!

      Thanks for replying! Went through this with Sky on Sat. Changed the channel on the router to 6, cleared all networks and then reconnected to sky network.

      IT guy at work told me to try start > run > cmd > ok then \ pconfig /all, but it wouldnt even work on my computer!

      Do you think it could be a firewall issue? We have AVG security on the pc?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connected but cant get on internet!

      IT guy at work told me to try start > run > cmd > ok then \ pconfig /all, but it wouldnt even work on my computer!
      The command is ipconfig /all How to open the Command Prompt varies, in XP Start> Programs> Accessories> Command Prompt is the easiest. In Vista, Win Key>type com>&Enter. This will only prove that you are connected.

      Two things you can try - go into the Router Wireless settings and under the Security Options, tick Disable. Click Apply and disconnect the cable. Try to connect by wireless. If you connect your password is wrong, delete the default one, create one of your own and try it. While you are in the wireless settings, make a note of the SSID to be sure you are trying to connect to your own router.

      The next tests whether your PC security settings is stopping the connection. To do this start the PC in Safe Mode with Networking and try to connect. If you can connect it shows your firewall or AV is stopping you. Unfortunately if it does not connect it proves nothing, as the wireless adapter drivers may not load in Safe Mode.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION