Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

    This is a discussion on How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; 2/ Changed the last 3 digits of ENDING IP ADDRESS from 253 to 254. That section now reads: IP ADDRESS: ...

    1. #11
      yiaggi's Avatar
      yiaggi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01273
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talking Re: How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

      2/ Changed the last 3 digits of ENDING IP ADDRESS from 253 to 254. That section now reads:

      IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.1
      IP SUBNET MASK: 255.255.255.0
      STARTING IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.2
      ENDING IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.254

      [/QUOTE]

      My mistake before you post! That should say:

      2/ Changed the last 3 digits of ENDING IP ADDRESS from 254 to 253. That section now reads:

      IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.1
      IP SUBNET MASK: 255.255.255.0
      STARTING IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.2
      ENDING IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.253


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      yiaggi's Avatar
      yiaggi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01273
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

      2/ Changed the last 3 digits of ENDING IP ADDRESS from 253 to 254. That section now reads:

      IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.1
      IP SUBNET MASK: 255.255.255.0
      STARTING IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.2
      ENDING IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.254

      [/QUOTE]

      My mistake before you post! That should say:

      2/ Changed the last 3 digits of ENDING IP ADDRESS from 254 to 253. That section now reads:

      IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.1
      IP SUBNET MASK: 255.255.255.0
      STARTING IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.2
      ENDING IP ADDRESS: 192.168.0.253

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

      Did you turn off DHCP in the second router? That seems to be the only thing you don't mention.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      yiaggi's Avatar
      yiaggi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01273
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Did you turn off DHCP in the second router? That seems to be the only thing you don't mention.
      Cheers for your reply ...

      Yep - I turned it off on the 2nd router and left it on the main Sky router.

      Do you know what could be making my PSP report a DNS fault? ? ? I thought there might be a clue there but obviously not!

      I'm well bummed out that I can't get this to work ... is driving me mad - thee must be a way!

    6. #15
      yiaggi's Avatar
      yiaggi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01273
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Did you turn off DHCP in the second router? That seems to be the only thing you don't mention.
      Cheers for your reply ...

      Yep - I turned it off on the 2nd router and left it on the main Sky router.

      Do you know what could be making my PSP report a DNS fault? ? ? I thought there might be a clue there but obviously not!

      I'm well bummed out that I can't get this to work ... is driving me mad - thee must be a way!

    7. #16
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

      Can you confirm the 2 router models you are trying to join? I see mention of 2 netgears and a belkin.

      I currently have a Sky Sagem linked up to a Belkin acting as just a wireless access point so hopefully might be able to help you out if you can let me know the models.

      Also when you have a wireless or wired connection to router 2, if you go to start --- run -- cmd (hit enter) then type ipconfig /all
      what are the results?
      Last edited by Donaldson2121; 20-07-09 at 06:04 PM.

    8. #17
      yiaggi's Avatar
      yiaggi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01273
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

      hi Donaldson2121 - I am new to the forum ... I posted the reply to this in the private message u sent but cant seem to see if it sent to u - lemme know if u didnt get it and i will post it gain on here ....

      Many thanks for your help!

    9. #18
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

      hi yiaggi i've sent you one back with some thing to try, let me know how you get on

    10. #19
      yiaggi's Avatar
      yiaggi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01273
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I configure my old wireless router to work with my new Sky broadband?

      Problem solved!

      Thank you for your help guys. It was down to a Static IP problem.


     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION