Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Help with wireless

    This is a discussion on Help with wireless within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have my PC upstairs and my DG934G v2 router downstairs. Im using wireless which sucks as i keep getting ...

    1. #1
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help with wireless

      I have my PC upstairs and my DG934G v2 router downstairs. Im using wireless which sucks as i keep getting disconnected as other peoples wireless connections keep interfering with mine. Is there any way i can get a wired connection without having to move my modem or buy a very long ethernet cable going from my upstairs PC to the router downstairs. If not how can i stop other peoples wireless connections interfering with mine, if that is the reason why i'm getting disconnected.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help with wireless

      You can change the channel on the router, log in and start at 13.

      The best thing would be to buy a couple of homeplugs, a it will allow you to have a wired connection to the router without the need to run a wire.

    4. #3
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with wireless

      I'm using channel 13 it was at auto, This may be a stupid question but what does changing the channel do. How do homeplug's work and is my electricity bill going to be very high.

      Also can you recommend what homeplug's i buy
      Last edited by graeme122; 29-06-09 at 08:26 PM. Reason: Added info

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help with wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by graeme122 View Post
      I'm using channel 13 it was at auto, This may be a stupid question but what does changing the channel do. How do homeplug's work and is my electricity bill going to be very high.

      Also can you recommend what homeplug's i buy
      Changing channels is a bit like changing stations on a radio, different equipment can use different channels to stop them interfering with each other, start at 13 and work down to 1 to see which gives the best results.

      Homeplugs work by turning you existing mains wiring into an ethernet network, you plug an adaptor in to a mains socket and then a lead from there to the PC, they can be placed on any socket within the house, even sheds and garages if they use the same mains fuse board, they give very good results with no interference. They only use a very tiny amount of electricity so no huge bills.

      You will need at least two, one to connect the router to the mains wiring and one for the PC at the other end, I also have my x-box connected this way as it improves gaming with no wireless lag, you can fit as many as you need, my sister has about 6, one for each PC for the kids and the X-box etc.

      I use Solwise 85mb ones which I purchased from e-bay for 45 for a pair, there are quite a few ex BT ones on there at the moment that are 200mb and seem to go for about the same price.

      http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2-X-SOLWISE-85...3A1%7C294%3A50

      http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Powerline-Adap...3A1%7C294%3A50

    6. #5
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with wireless

      Thanks alot id say i need one for my PC and another for my PS3, what about this one

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help with wireless

      Seems a bit expensive as the ones I linked too were under 50 for a pair. Some Comtrend 200mbps ones sold for 35 on e-bay for the two.

    8. #7
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with wireless

      How will i know iv found the right channel as my computer connectys to lots,

      e.g. Channel 4, 9, 11, 12.

      Which 1 should i choose

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help with wireless

      The one that you have set the router too and that works best.

    10. #9
      CHR15T1E's Avatar
      CHR15T1E is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Elmswell
      Broadband ISP: ADSL24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Suffolk, UK
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with wireless

      Use Netstumbler bud to see what channels are being used by your neighbours, and choose a channel that is far away from your neighbours eg neighbour using channel 1 , pick 11

    11. #10
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with wireless

      ok thanks
      Last edited by graeme122; 09-07-09 at 06:07 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION