Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Extending broadband using repeater

This is a discussion on Extending broadband using repeater within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I have been using Sky wireless broadband for a couple of years now, without any problems. I have built ...

adegeorge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Thanks

Cool Extending broadband using repeater

Hi
      I have been using Sky wireless broadband for a couple of years now, without any problems.
      I have built a office in my garage and have run a newtork cable and power from the house to the garage,
      I now need to get internet access in garage.

The network cable goes starts from the utility room with a plug socket next to it ready for a repeater to the back of the garage which has power.
      My Sky Netgear router is located about 30 ft away from the end of the network cable, but I don't really want to move as I will have an awkward route to a phone line.

One option I though would be to put a repeater into utility and then the network cable would run from the back of the router to the garage giving my the access I want.
      On a previous thread a homeplug adaptor was recommended. The power to the garage runs of it's own fuse box which is spurred from the main fuse box - would this work? but would be a waste of the network cable.

Any feedback would be great, particularly around ease of set up of a repeater
      Thanks

2. Advertisement
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Thanks

Re: Extending broadband using repeater