Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 32

    Second laptop won't connect

    This is a discussion on Second laptop won't connect within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi folks, I have had 2 laptops running with the black netgear router no problems. Yesterday my wife got a ...

    1. #1
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Second laptop won't connect

      Hi folks,
      I have had 2 laptops running with the black netgear router no problems.
      Yesterday my wife got a new e-machines laptop and it connects perfectly but since then my toshiba refuses to connect. It worked fine for a few hours now it doesn't even see the router. It can see my neighbours networks so it can't be a fault with the wireless card.
      I've tried all the different channels but no joy. I'm guessing it's probably related to the router's security?

      Any ides?

      Thanks, Paul


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      p45769's Avatar
      p45769 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      can you describe in more detail. what happens when you switch off the other pc. have you tried to reboot your router etc?

    4. #3
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Quote Originally Posted by p45769 View Post
      can you describe in more detail. what happens when you switch off the other pc. have you tried to reboot your router etc?

      Tried it with the other laptop off and have rebooted the router. Still no difference.

      Paul

    5. #4
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      I just tried resetting the router and still no change. New laptop connects fine but mine doesn't even see the network. Connects wired fine. My PS3, ipod touch and N95 all connect fine too.
      My laptop connect to a mate's network with no problems.

      Paul

    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Can you take a look at the Properties of the WiFi adaptor that isn't working - and check which of the various versions of 802.11 a/b/g are enabled. It's just possible your old laptop is set to one that the others aren't using and you are defaulting to a rate that isn't now been broadcast.

      For example if you have one of your devices set to 802.11b (the slowest) then the wifi router may be forced to only broadcast at that speed. If your old lappy is then set to 802.11g (a higher speed) it may simply not see the router. The best bet is to set the router and each device to 'mixed mode' which is a mix of at least 802.11b/g and let the devices sort themselves out!

    7. #6
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      Can you take a look at the Properties of the WiFi adaptor that isn't working - and check which of the various versions of 802.11 a/b/g are enabled. It's just possible your old laptop is set to one that the others aren't using and you are defaulting to a rate that isn't now been broadcast.

      For example if you have one of your devices set to 802.11b (the slowest) then the wifi router may be forced to only broadcast at that speed. If your old lappy is then set to 802.11g (a higher speed) it may simply not see the router. The best bet is to set the router and each device to 'mixed mode' which is a mix of at least 802.11b/g and let the devices sort themselves out!
      Thanks for the suggestion.
      Unfortunately both laptops and the router are set for b/g and still no connection.
      Sometimes the laptop sees the router but won't connect. Vista tries to fix the problem but can't find a solution.
      I'm convinced it's something to do with the security in the router.

      Paul

    8. #7
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Have you tried changing the WiFi Channel? Just a thought.

      Even try using a manual address (ie 192.168.0.25) for the problem lappy.
      Last edited by dms05; 10-05-09 at 02:49 PM.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      How can it be the router if ALL other devices connect fine?

      You mentioned Vista so try this:

      Go to Network & Sharing Center
      Go to Manage Wireless Networks on the left under Tasks
      Delete your Sky connection (and any others you don't use)
      Reboot and try again

      Might work, might not...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      Have you tried changing the WiFi Channel? Just a thought.

      Even try using a manual address (ie 192.168.0.25) for the problem lappy.
      Tried all 13 channels.
      How do I use a manual address?

      What I don't understand is that the Toshiba laptop has had no problems on Sky broadband until I got the new laptop.

      Paul

    11. #10
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      To enter a Manual IP address go to the WiFi Adaptors Properties, highlight TCP/IP v4 and then select Properties (again!). This will take you to a page that has the Address and DNS set to Auto. Select Manual for the adress and enter:

      Address 192.168.0.25
      Submask 255.255.255.0
      Gateway 192.168.0.1

      And then try to connect again!

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION