Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    Second laptop won't connect

    This is a discussion on Second laptop won't connect within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; What security do you have enabled in the router? Try turning it off and see if you can connect the ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      What security do you have enabled in the router? Try turning it off and see if you can connect the laptop.

      Something else you can try is turning on Wireless Isolation. This should stop the laptops interfering with one and other, if this is what is happening.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      To enter a Manual IP address go to the WiFi Adaptors Properties, highlight TCP/IP v4 and then select Properties (again!). This will take you to a page that has the Address and DNS set to Auto. Select Manual for the adress and enter:

      Address 192.168.0.25
      Submask 255.255.255.0
      Gateway 192.168.0.1

      And then try to connect again!
      Tried it. No luck.

      Thanks, Paul

    4. #13
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Just took the laptop to a mates house and it connects to his BT home hub no problem. To me that points to a problem with my router's settings.

      Paul

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      What does it show when you run ipconfig /all in a Command Prompt?

      Have you tried connecting to the router with a cable?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      What does it show when you run ipconfig /all in a Command Prompt?

      Have you tried connecting to the router with a cable?
      Tried this but after I type ipconfig /all the box comes up then dissappears after a split second.

      Works fine with the cable. That's what I'm using at the minute.

      Paul

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Are you typing it in the Run or Start boxes? To run a CP in Vista, press the Windows key, type cmd and press enter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
      Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

      C:\Users\Paul>ipconfig /all

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Paul-Laptop
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

      Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbp
      s USB 2.0 Network Adapter
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-44-94-C6-0C
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
      NIC
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-8C-FC-A5-8C
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::dd:344d:750a:ca8e%8(Preferred)
      IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 10 May 2009 16:48:00
      Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 11 May 2009 17:04:39
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:d5c7:a2d6:300f:1577:a1fd:aed5(Pref
      erred)
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::300f:1577:a1fd:aed5%9(Preferred)
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
      NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{D29C9B3D-B8BE-4DCA-9A08-2B936F24E
      337}
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

      C:\Users\Paul>

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Sorry, I should have asked you to unplug the cable and switch on the wireless, that configuration is just showing that the ethernet adapter is connected OK.

      If you were not connecting previously I would have suggested a conflict with the wireless adapter and the router, but that doesn't seem likely. The fact that you can connect OK to your mates would also make a driver problem unlikely.

      MS have a bad habit of releasing driver updates, which mess connections up. It may not help but it would do no harm to uninstall the adapter and reinstall it using the Latest drivers from the manufacturers.

      There should be nothing in the router settings which would stop you connecting, especially if you have reset the router to default using the button at the back. Did you try turning on Wireless Isolation? Although this would make no difference if the other laptop is switched off.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      redpaul99's Avatar
      redpaul99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02838
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      Already tried uninstalling the adapter and re-installing. also tried it with a usb adapter and still not finding the router.

      Paul

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Second laptop won't connect

      As a last resort do you have a restore point just before the other laptop was introduced. If so try it and see if that helps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION