Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    wireless connection or not

    This is a discussion on wireless connection or not within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Please help me !!! I am having a hell of a time trying to get my daughters laptop connected to ...

    1. #1
      duggers1954's Avatar
      duggers1954 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wireless connection or not

      Please help me !!! I am having a hell of a time trying to get my daughters laptop connected to my system. I have been in every menu I can think of, checked & unchecked boxes, wiped everything off and still can not get connected with Security WPA-PSK. This is driving me mad. there must be something I'm missing.

      Netgear dg834gt
      Running windows XP on both machines.
      Broadband Mid.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection or not

      I needed both, so opted for homeplugs.

      Never looked back, they are as fast as a direct connection.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: wireless connection or not

      You shouldn't need to check or uncheck anything, first of all what O/s is the laptop running, what channel is the router on and what happens when you try to connect on WPA-PSK?

    5. #4
      duggers1954's Avatar
      duggers1954 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection or not

      yeah both machines are running XP and channel 6. nothing happens Dlink says excellent connection but cannot access internet

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: wireless connection or not

      Can you access with no security? If you have not tried, go into the routers wireless settings and under Security, check Disable. This will help narrow down the problem.

      Also try using the Windows wireless manager instead of Dlink's.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: wireless connection or not

      Put windows zero config in charge through control panel, admin tools, services. Set router to channel 11 or 13, disable WPA and see if it works. If it does work try it with security turned back on again.

    8. #7
      duggers1954's Avatar
      duggers1954 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection or not

      yeah did try this got it working for a short while but did not want to leave the security off, since then it will not work with it on or off.

    9. #8
      duggers1954's Avatar
      duggers1954 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection or not

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Put windows zero config in charge through control panel, admin tools, services. Set router to channel 11 or 13, disable WPA and see if it works. If it does work try it with security turned back on again.
      sorry mate you have lost me there

    10. #9
      duggers1954's Avatar
      duggers1954 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless connection or not

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Put windows zero config in charge through control panel, admin tools, services. Set router to channel 11 or 13, disable WPA and see if it works. If it does work try it with security turned back on again.
      Found what you suggested, windows zero config is saying " Automatic " is this what you mean.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: wireless connection or not

      windows zero config is saying " Automatic "
      That will be in the Services, but it does not mean it is being used. Right click the wireless icon in the Tray, select 'Use Windows XP wireless configuration' There will also be an entry for your present manager, selecting it, it will be labelled Manager or Monitor or something similar, will bring up it's software.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION