Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Can't get a dial tone when plug my phone in the microfilter

    This is a discussion on Can't get a dial tone when plug my phone in the microfilter within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello, I switched over to Sky broadband last week. When I plug my phone into the microfilter, there is no ...

    1. #1
      pousenf's Avatar
      pousenf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't get a dial tone when plug my phone in the microfilter

      Hello,

      I switched over to Sky broadband last week. When I plug my phone into the microfilter, there is no longer a dialling tone. I didn't have this problem with my previous broadband provider.

      When I plug the phone directly into the phone socket, the dialling tone is fine. I have put microfilters on all the phone sockets in the house.

      I rang technical support and they asked me to check all the microfilters they provided which I did and still the same problem. They also asked me to use the main telephone socket which is in the hall - but still the same problem.

      I can get onto the internet fine, but it's frustrating as there is no dialling tone on the phone and also the connection from my sky box to the telephone line no longer works.

      Any ideas?

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't get a dial tone when plug my phone in the microfilter

      can you not use your old microfilters?

    4. #3
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Can't get a dial tone when plug my phone in the microfilter

      can you get a dial tone with just a phone in the test socket without any microfilters or anything else connected?

      If you can't get any dial tone then it's an exchange fault, I had this a couple of years back and it took BT an age to sort it out.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    5. #4
      pousenf's Avatar
      pousenf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't get a dial tone when plug my phone in the microfilter

      I can get a dial tone when I plug the phone directly into the socket. I can also get a dial tone when i plug the phone line into the microfilter without the asdl line plugged in. As soon as I plug that in the phone line goes dead again. I'm having to take the microfilter out and plug the phone in the socket directly everytime i make a call.

      Tried my old microfilters and same prob.

    6. #5
      pousenf's Avatar
      pousenf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't get a dial tone when plug my phone in the microfilter

      yep I tried that - same problem.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Can't get a dial tone when plug my phone in the microfilter

      You will need to call BB tech support, explain the issue, make sure you are very clear that you cannot plug the router in without the line going off and that you have tried multiple filters. If you have tried every single filter on that socket with nothing else but the telephone and router on the line then it must be an issue with the adsl equipment. Could be a faulty cable, faulty router, issue at exchange.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't get a dial tone when plug my phone in the microfilter

      If you have the ADSL cable from your old provider, try that. There have been reports of dodgy RJ11 cables causing problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION