Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Wireless gone slow since added hardwire PC

    This is a discussion on Wireless gone slow since added hardwire PC within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi - I am a first time user, please be gentle I have a wireless slow speed issue which as ...

    1. #1
      Seedsroy's Avatar
      Seedsroy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless gone slow since added hardwire PC

      Hi - I am a first time user, please be gentle

      I have a wireless slow speed issue which as it has suddenly happened, I hope someone may be able to help.


      Laptop 1 - Wireless - has always had good quick service
      PC1 - Wireless - has always had good quick service

      Sunday changed PC 1 to hardwired as there is a fault with the wireless adaptor

      PC1 hardwire service is nice and fast however now the wireless service on Laptop 1 is painfully slow. Since then I have hardwired Laptop 1 also - this has restored the fast service.

      However, really I need to use Laptop1 via wireless. Any help or reason as to why this speed has slumped?

      I use the Netgear DG934G.

      Many thanks

      Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless gone slow since added hardwire PC

      What is your download speed like? If it is very low the the wired PC may be sucking it all up. This would apply especially if it were being used for P2P or torrent downloads. Maybe if you post your stats someone may be able to give you an idea what is wrong.

      Unfortunately the Sky routers do not support QoS, which could help solve your problem. A 3rd party program like NetLimiter - The Ultimate Bandwidth Shaper may solve your problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Seedsroy's Avatar
      Seedsroy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless gone slow since added hardwire PC

      Hi Thanks for your response

      Unfortunately I am not at home at the moment - what is the best way to find/ report stats?

      Even when I unplug the cable from the router to the desktop (therefore just the wireless laptop runnning) the wireless is still very slow

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless gone slow since added hardwire PC

      Have a look at this tutorial -
      How to get your router statistics

      Wireless is always going to be slower than ethernet, if it has slowed down recently there may be another network in your area which is interfering. Try changing the channel on the router, No 13 is usually a good bet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION