Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    new user seeking help!!

    This is a discussion on new user seeking help!! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; i currently use a wireless connection on my laptop and the modem is plugged into my pc, my question is ...

    1. #1
      doolieaj's Avatar
      doolieaj is offline Banned
      Exchange: 01325
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      new user seeking help!!

      i currently use a wireless connection on my laptop and the modem is plugged into my pc,
      my question is if i buy a wireless adapotor for my pc do i need to plug the modem into pc using the lan cable? is it easy to set up?
      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: new user seeking help!!

      no you don't need it plugged into the router, and yes it's easy to setup - you've already done it with your laptop!!

      just run the CD that comes with the dongle and you'll be fine
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      doolieaj's Avatar
      doolieaj is offline Banned
      Exchange: 01325
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new user seeking help!!

      thanks for that, so would you reccomend that using a wireless adaptor is easier to set up than plugging in the pc with a lan?
      is it just a case of pluggin modem in and pluggin in the adaptor? im pretty useless at these things so need it to be easy!!
      if anybody could give me some directions or a step by step guide from taking modem out of box to getting running id be very grateful.
      my connection date to sky is the 25 of this month

      thanks all

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: new user seeking help!!

      If you can use ethernet it will much less hassle and there is less chance of a problem.
      Last edited by Smithy99; 20-03-09 at 02:50 PM.

    6. #5
      doolieaj's Avatar
      doolieaj is offline Banned
      Exchange: 01325
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new user seeking help!!

      i dont know what you mean? im no good with computer talk

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: new user seeking help!!

      There was no computer talk in his post lol Ethernet is the cable that the router will come with, this is the cable that you will not need if you use wireless.

    8. #7
      Captain Kevman's Avatar
      Captain Kevman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BATHGATE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Bathgate
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new user seeking help!!

      If it's a new pc, make sure you're not running the 64 bit version of Vista, as that and wireless routers don't like speaking to each other!!!

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: new user seeking help!!

      Quote Originally Posted by doolieaj View Post
      i dont know what you mean? im no good with computer talk
      Sorry, ethernet is the yellow lead that comes with the Sky router, it has a plug on either end, one end goes into the back of the router in any number 1-4, the other end goes into the back of the PC there should be a socket for it maybe marked network or it will have a picture of a few computers together.

      If the yellow lead is not long enough you can buy these easily in any PC type shop in various lenghts and it will work upto 200-300meters.

      Using a lead will be much simpler than using wireless, you will not have to worry about security, there will be no interference issues and genrally it is much faster and better.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new user seeking help!!

      The first thing to do is carefully take the set up disk from it's envelope and place it on your PC desk. Place your coffee cup on top of it to prevent any more marks on your desk.

      Now for the serious stuff. Unpack your router, locate the ethernet cable(yellow) and plug one end into your PC and the other into one of the LAN ports on the router. It does not matter which one as they are all the same, even if they have different colours. Plug one of the filters in the box into the Master phone socket. Put it straight into the socket, if you have a splitter in the socket take it out and plug it into the filter. If you have other phone sockets plug the other filters into them in the same way. Locate the ADSL cable(grey) plug one end into the ADSL socket of the filter and the other into the ADSL socket on the router. Plug the PSU for the power into a 13 amp power socket and plug the other end into the router. The lights on the front should start flashing and when they settle down they should all be green. Go to your PC and double click the icon for Internet Explorer, it will open and you will be on line. That is all there is to it.

      Connecting by wireless is a bit more complicated. Get your connection working with the cable then come back for more advice if you need it

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      doolieaj's Avatar
      doolieaj is offline Banned
      Exchange: 01325
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new user seeking help!!

      thanks for all the help i will give it a go tomorrow!!! when youre not used to computers it can get confusing with all the lingo... adsl,wifi,ethernet,lan etcetc lets hope it will all go smoothly otherwise its a trip to the library to use thie pc to log on for help

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION