Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Not recognising admin and sky

    This is a discussion on Not recognising admin and sky within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi guys, Just thought id have a reformat daay and get rid of all the crap off the laptop. Sorry ...

    1. #1
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not recognising admin and sky

      Hi guys,
      Just thought id have a reformat daay and get rid of all the crap off the laptop.

      Sorry if im missing something obvious, but im following the tutorial in the sticky, and at part 4 it isnt recognising admin and sky, the page just keeps refreshing.................help please


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Have you by any chance ever changed the username and password?

      Click on this http://192.168.0.1

      It should bring up a box to log in.

      Username:
      admin
      Password: sky

      If you have never changed the router settings in the past, you could reset the router, by sticking a pin in the small hole in the back for about 10 to 15 seconds, this would put the router back to default and lose any changes you may have done.

      Also try doing it through a wired connection before wireless?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Dont think ive ever changed any settings?

      I done the pin reset thingy, and im using the ethernet cable to go online ATM.......still just refreshing. I am typing admin in as my username, and sky in the password, and soon as i type them in and press enter the page is just refreshing and the two text boxes are blank?

      any ideas guys, as i really do need to get the wireless going!

      cheers

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      There is really no reason why this should not work.

      Could be a software firewall issue or a pop up blocker in your browser?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      I was going to say reset it.
      Sounds like an issue with the browser.

      Are you using the Sky logo to get to the internet of the IE?
      I know there can be some issue's using the Sky logo at times. Sometimes I just doesn't work properly, even though it's practically a shortcut to IE..

      Try turning your Firewall off too.
      Are you typing it all in lower case?

    7. #6
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Tried lower and upper case. My default browser is firefox, but ive just tried IE7, and ive also dissabled xp's firewall....................still no bluddy joy!!!!

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Have you installed any antivirus or firewall software? If so try disabling that briefly?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      No, nothing added yet, Ive only just reformatted the laptop, so everything is fresh as a daisy.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Is it a Sagem router?

      Cant login to Sagem 2504 router




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Its the netgear router i got when i signed up to sky

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION