Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Not recognising admin and sky

    This is a discussion on Not recognising admin and sky within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; If you can wait until later I can ask a friend when they come online, if it is a known ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      If you can wait until later I can ask a friend when they come online, if it is a known issue for you. Short of that I am all out of ideas.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Thanks, i will check back later.

      If its not a recognised problem, would it be worth giving them at sky a ring, and if so have you got a number so i can talk to someone with half a brain.........think i once spoke to someone at either scotland or Ireland call centre, and they seemed pretty good

      cheers

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Hi

      Not a known issue with the Netgear

      Possibly browser related, which doesn't make sense as you have already tried IE and FF

      You could ring Sky, but I doubt they would be able to resolve it easily. 08442 410 515 (UK)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      try
      User: admin
      Pass: password or admin

    6. #15
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Ok guys........................we are getting somewhere, well, kind of !

      At last, ive managed to get onto the netgear settings page. Tried admin and sky about a dozen times. Reset the pin, unpluged the router, unpluged the ethernet cable, tried different browsers etc etc, still didnt work, then i tried reseting the pin overide with the router still switched on, and yayyyyyyyyyy it worked. Thing is (this is where my noobness shows up)
      i still cant get connected wireless. If i go into wireless connections in control panel and right click on available wireless networks, the SSID number is the same as the one showing in the taskbar for my ralink wireless lan card, but these are different to the one that is showing in the netgear router settings page (which is the same to the one on the bottom of my router) and the wireless status just keeps going from connected, to aquiring connection, to nothing...........help please!!

      cheers

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      I know it sounds daft, but is the wireless switched on in the router? Should be a little check box.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #17
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Lol, yeah the router is showing the wireless status.
      I think its gota be something in my settings TBH, maybe something in the netgear settings page.
      If i click on the wireless network connections it is saying that its unable to configure a wireless connection, and if i have enabled another program to manage my connection. Now when i clcik my taskbar ( for my ralink wireless lan card ) it is showing 2 SSID's one of them is the one ive got in my netgear settings page, and i havent a clue where the other ones from?

    9. #18
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      The other one would be a neighbours.

      Just choose the one that matches yours.

      Also it may be wise to change the SSID as per this thread.

      Instructions from Sky to secure your Netgear V1 Wireless Router
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 03-01-09 at 11:53 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #19
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Sorry to be a pain in the ****, and thanks for yr help thus far, but.................there is now only one SSID showing up ( not the one i want) how, or where do i get mine back from..........keep it noob proof please


      thanks again

    11. #20
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not recognising admin and sky

      Where is there only one SSID showing in the taskbar icon?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION