Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Help

    This is a discussion on Help within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I know this might sound daft but im sure i have wireless connection but i have bought my daughter a ...

    1. #1
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help

      I know this might sound daft but im sure i have wireless connection but i have bought my daughter a pc for her room for xmas, and just want to make sure i can set it up wirelessly on the day.

      if anyone can help in advance that would be great


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help

      You should have a label or a card stating the SSID (Identifier) for the router and its' network key, all you do is tell the pc to connect to the SSID on the card and when prompted give the network key on the card/ label in CAPITAL LETTERS and no numbers.

    4. #3
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      thanks wil try that hope that works fingers crossed

    5. #4
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      tried that my man and no joy do you think maybe its a problemo with the router?

    6. #5
      Jid Ni's Avatar
      Jid Ni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LILN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      id recommend making sure theres no previous profiles in your computer as this can cause confliction and try reseting ure router if needed try by ure ethernet cable to ensure no connection problems

    7. #6
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      Usually a good idea to turn off wireless security in the router (from another computer, preferably wired to the router by ethernet cable) while setting up a new computer.

    8. #7
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      done all that, and still no joy like, it seems to be quite a problem, the only thing i have ever managed to get connected wirelessly is a psp to the main pc, and thats all tried laptops they recognise the connection is there but cant connect to it.

      I have made sure all settings are correct etc

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help

      It may seem silly, but are you sure the PC has a wireless adapter? Most new laptops do, but only a few desktops are fitted with them. If it has one, in XP, open Network Connections, in Vista open Network and Sharing Centre,click Manage Network Connections in the left pane and right click the wireless adapter. Check that it is enabled. If it is it will show 'Disable'.

      Open the router settings and check that the Wireless Access Point is enabled and that it is ticked to broadcast the SSID. Make a note of the SSID, in case it is different from that on the label. The Wireless Isolation box should not be ticked. While you are there tick Disable under Security Options. Leave the Security off, until you have your PCs connected.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      darkside1314's Avatar
      darkside1314 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Glaschu
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It may seem silly, but are you sure the PC has a wireless adapter? Most new laptops do, but only a few desktops are fitted with them. If it has one, in XP, open Network Connections, in Vista open Network and Sharing Centre,click Manage Network Connections in the left pane and right click the wireless adapter. Check that it is enabled. If it is it will show 'Disable'.

      Open the router settings and check that the Wireless Access Point is enabled and that it is ticked to broadcast the SSID. Make a note of the SSID, in case it is different from that on the label. The Wireless Isolation box should not be ticked. While you are there tick Disable under Security Options. Leave the Security off, until you have your PCs connected.
      hi,

      have now tried it with the wii and xbox360 and get the same scenario

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help

      Should have asked this before, Is the wireless light on in the router? What happens when the wireless manager opens and you click Connect. Do you get an error message?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION