Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    OK I;m stupid but I can't find

    This is a discussion on OK I;m stupid but I can't find within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Wireless Network Connection Manager on my desktop, in control panel nor clicking on my wireless icon. I've got broadband up ...

    1. #1
      suttonsue's Avatar
      suttonsue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birmingham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK I;m stupid but I can't find

      Wireless Network Connection Manager on my desktop, in control panel nor clicking on my wireless icon. I've got broadband up and running on my main computer today with sky activating the line and am now trying to connect my laptop which is a Dell, new and operates on Vista. According to the set up instructions in the Sky booklet I have to open WNCM to input myWPA security protocol and ID number but I just can't find the relevant dialogue box. I know it must be something simple so can someone please, please take me through the steps, preferably through control panel in Vista. I do have a Dell Wireless WLAN Utility card icon in Control Panel but that just gives me information about what is installed, it gives me no opportunity to set up a connection. Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: OK I;m stupid but I can't find

      Vista? Try start menu, click on "Connect to" and then click on the sky SSID relevant to your router (the number on your card)

    4. #3
      blondejon's Avatar
      blondejon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter Castle Street
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK I;m stupid but I can't find

      Yet another example of why XP is better (IMO) than Vista, XP is a doddle to set up wirelessly, vista is a pain to do anything with

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: OK I;m stupid but I can't find

      Yes, XP is so good it is optimised for dial up and 3 service packs have failed to fix it

      When XP was launched and right up to SP2 in 2004, XP was the pits, so much so that many users vowed to stick with Win 98. People have short memories.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK I;m stupid but I can't find

      I remember the days of 95, It took me ages to move from win 3.1.

    7. #6
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK I;m stupid but I can't find

      If poss always stick with the wireless adapter manufacturer's own interface -- I recently installed a Belkin that relied on XP Windows Zero Config and it was confusing and offered little info about the connection -- and the connection seemed to fail completely after I'd connected to several different routers. Dumped the Belkin and installed a Netgear.

      The problem with Vista wireless is that it works instantly when it works but's a bit hopeless to troubleshoot -- and doesn't it use that weird Apple terminology for the various Wireless Security Options ? Still, it can't be worse than trying to network with Win98.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION