Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

    This is a discussion on Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, I have a ds which wants WEP wireless security. I'm not a big fan of WEP and the ...

    1. #1
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Exclamation Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      Hi all,

      I have a ds which wants WEP wireless security. I'm not a big fan of WEP and the desktop does not handle it very well ( looses wireless every so ofter - fine in WPA ). So i have a spare router lying around. Can it be done? Here's the plan:

      Spare router's wireless security to WEP, run a Ethernet into the back of the other router ( which uses WPA ).

      Connect DS to spare router?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Jay33's Avatar
      Jay33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01383
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Re: Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      hi mate, i may well be an IT professional but networking is not my hot spot unfortunately but i know how this may well work, to cut it short the answer would be no for this scenario mate. its not possible to be done as both routers would have to connected to the internet at the same time, and the ethernet cable will not allow the routers to speak in this way (ie - share the internet through each other) sorry bud. also each router has its own MAC address which is a code that uniquely identifies your your router from everyone elses, you service provider, sky i presume .... will more than likely not allow for two routers to be on their database, so they will not allow for this to take place. i can think of ways in which it may be done mind you but would require a lot of work and expertise. its not worth your while.
      Microsoft Certified IT Professional - MCP/ MCDST 70-271, 70-272, A+

    4. #3
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      Can't see why not.

      I've just set up my system with a second router and wireless PC (don't have a ds whatever one of those is) as a test.

      Connect to the secondary router by ethernet and login to the router.
      The following is for the Netgear V2.

      Under ADVANCED and the LAN IP SETUP page change the LAN TC IP Setup from the default 192.168.0.1 to something out of the way like 192.168.0.200,uncheck the Use Router as DHCP Server and click APPLY.

      Log back into the router with the new IP address,go to the SETUP page which takes you to the WIRELESS SETTINGS page,change the channel to something different from the primary router (and any neighbours),set up the WEP and APPLY.

      Logout from the router,disconnect and connect it via ethernet to the primary router.
      Wirelessly connect your ds to the secondary router.
      It should now connect to the internet via the secondary router then the primary one.

      Andy

    5. #4
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      I would set the secondary router ip address a little bit nearer than 200. As the primary router would have to build a table of ip addresses up to 200, even if they are not used. (Correct me if I am wrong through)

      Around 192.168.0.20 would be a better area.

    6. #5
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      The diagram and some of the notes here may help explain:

      Using WPN824, WGR614, or WGT624 Routers as an Access Point

    7. #6
      Jay33's Avatar
      Jay33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01383
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      thats sounds like better info for ya dude. your ISP still would not have two mac addresses for you though on their system, still a little bit iffy on the whole subject my friend, but from what ive seen it looks to make sense to some degree give it a go and if it aint broke then dont fix it lol
      Microsoft Certified IT Professional - MCP/ MCDST 70-271, 70-272, A+

    8. #7
      Jay33's Avatar
      Jay33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01383
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      I would set the secondary router ip address a little bit nearer than 200. As the primary router would have to build a table of ip addresses up to 200, even if they are not used. (Correct me if I am wrong through)

      Around 192.168.0.20 would be a better area.
      you would be able to use the class C range to its fullest ability buddy, as long as the network ID stays the same (the first 3 octets 192.168.0) then the host ID can be used up to the range desired,
      Microsoft Certified IT Professional - MCP/ MCDST 70-271, 70-272, A+

    9. #8
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      Quote Originally Posted by Jay33 View Post
      you would be able to use the class C range to its fullest ability buddy, as long as the network ID stays the same (the first 3 octets 192.168.0) then the host ID can be used up to the range desired,
      Yeah I know but to keep things a little more tidy, keep the range as low as possible to keep things tidy.

    10. #9
      Jay33's Avatar
      Jay33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01383
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      Yeah I know but to keep things a little more tidy, keep the range as low as possible to keep things tidy.
      you said "correct me if im wrong" and thats what i done. were always learning, its possible to use any withing the specified range within the 192.168.0/24 in CIDR notation. but i know where ur coming from.
      Microsoft Certified IT Professional - MCP/ MCDST 70-271, 70-272, A+

    11. #10
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two Routers one using WEP another WPA can it be done?

      Quote Originally Posted by Jay33 View Post
      you said "correct me if im wrong" and thats what i done. were always learning, its possible to use any withing the specified range within the 192.168.0/24 in CIDR notation. but i know where ur coming from.
      Cheers

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION