Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

complete newbie help please!!!!

This is a discussion on complete newbie help please!!!! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hiya im a complete newbie to sky and its products and not very technically minded so if someone could help ...

crumpy01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

Question complete newbie help please!!!!

hiya

im a complete newbie to sky and its products and not very technically minded so if someone could help me out without using technical mumbo jumbbo that would be great!!!

Basically im a mac user, i managed to install the broadband fine and thats all ok. Im now trying to get my windows laptop connecting to the wireless but i dont know where im going wrong. The laptop has found the connection and apparantley connected to it with a strong signal but when you go on internet explorer the websites won't load as if its not connected! i've been on both windows and sky help and tried the things they suggested but to no avail!

please help!!!!

lis

2. Advertisement
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Re: complete newbie help please!!!!

Probably useful to disclose what wireless adapter you have in the Windows machine.

Meanwhile it sounds as though the problem is with wireless encryption.

You need to apply the network passphrase printed on the router (or supplied on paper by Sky) to the utilities for your Windows machine's wireless adapter. Alternatively let Windows manage the connection and apply the passphrase to the appropriate part of Windows Networking. The wireless encryption standard is WPA TKIP.