Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    How to prove SSID is being broadcast

    This is a discussion on How to prove SSID is being broadcast within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Just switched over to SKY BB and got shipped a new Sagem 2504 router. The transfer between ISP's was trouble ...

    1. #1
      Alan L's Avatar
      Alan L is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208866
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      Just switched over to SKY BB and got shipped a new Sagem 2504 router. The transfer between ISP's was trouble free and setting up using a wired connection took 5mins. Getting same speed as previous ISP but costing a lot less so on the whole pleased.

      My problem has come when trying to connect to router via wireless. Laptop worked OK when using my old Netgear router. When my laptop searches for available network it does not find my sky router but does find my neighbours boxes one of them being a sky router. Now I know WIFI works as I'm now piggy backing on a neighbours open router. Thinking that the SSID might not being broadcast logged on to router and that is set OK. Only other wifi device I have is a wii and that can't see the sky router either. Apart from asking a friend to come over with a wifi laptop any other way to prove the SSID is actually being broadcast and wifi working. Just because the lights are on and the boxes are ticked doesn't mean the things is working.

      Any ideas??

      Alan.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      You could try changing the SSID to something new and try another wireless channel (no idea if it will help, but worth a shot).

      YOu could of course set up a manual wireless connection on your PC and see if it connects.

    4. #3
      Alan L's Avatar
      Alan L is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208866
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      Hi Red, have tried setting up manual connection on both laptop and wii but no joy. Worth suggesting as I hadn't meantioned I'd tried that.

      The setting of a new SSID might be worth a go as it could kick it into life.

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      As well as the broadcast ESSID is there an option to turn wireless off? There was from memory on the original Netgear.

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      if that doesn't work, you could try a reset (there should be a reset hole that you push a pin in, not sure if you have to hold the reset in whilst powering up).

      Failing that..... it's broke?!?! Hopefully someone else will come along with a suggestion or 2.

      Welcome to the forums by the way

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      You could try downloading Netstumbler, link below. If you have a compatible adapter, most are, it will show all the networks in your area including, hopefully, your own

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      blondejon's Avatar
      blondejon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter Castle Street
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      Make sure wireless isolation is NOT ticked

      Try changing the SSID name and set the channel to 06

    9. #8
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      I'd suggest having the laptop in the room with the router and changing the wi-fi channels as there are a lot of devices out there that sit in the 2.4 GHz band nowadays and it could be simple interferrence.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    10. #9
      Alan L's Avatar
      Alan L is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208866
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      Hi Guys,

      Thanks for the ideas. I managed to get the laptop connected via wifi by changing the channel selection from auto to a specific channel.

      Got to see if I can get the wii sorted now.

    11. #10
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: How to prove SSID is being broadcast

      on your laptop is there a section that you can see not only signal strength but noise as well as you can pick a channel number with the best signal to noise ratio.

      If not no problem but I use a channel with slightly less signal strength as it has almost no noise on it at all.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION