Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Wireless Zero Configuration?

    This is a discussion on Wireless Zero Configuration? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey, just recently got sky broadband but having a few problems. Everytime I turn on my comp I have to ...

    1. #1
      StuGee's Avatar
      StuGee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless Zero Configuration?

      Hey, just recently got sky broadband but having a few problems. Everytime I turn on my comp I have to re apply the wzc settings then go into network connections and advenced settings and re check 'use windows to configure my wireless network settings'. Tried phoneing sky and they said it was a problem with my comp so they couldn't help me. Also been looking up the web, supposidly microsoft have a patch for it but i cant seem to download it, I also found a suggestion to upgrade from windows servise pack 2 to wsp3 which i have done so but nothibng has happened. Any help in resolving this problem would be fantastic as i am starting to loose it. My other two flat mates seem to have no problem with it and theres is working fine. Thanks.x


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Wireless Zero Configuration?

      Sky are right turn you away as they don't support WZC or built in wireless...

      this what you're on about?

      Wireless update rollup package for Windows XP is available
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      StuGee's Avatar
      StuGee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Zero Configuration?

      Yea it was something pretty similar. How do I go about downloading it? Can't find a link to download it :/? Yea its not skys problem, they referred me to microsoft who gave me two options, contact pc world of pay 46 to put me on to a technical adviser. Obv i chose pc world (as thats where i got the pc from), unfortunatly though my warrenty had run out and my only option was to phone a helpline that cost 1.50 a min and would last no more than 20 minutes and i wasen't for doing that either.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Wireless Zero Configuration?

      If you already had SP2 and now SP3 then the update referred to above has been installed.

      First off check if your computer has its own wireless configuration utility e.g. one may have been supplied with the dongle or adapter card you're using. If it has, try using that.

      If it hasn't and you're forced to use WZC then the answer is probably here:

      Wireless Zero Configuration troubleshoot - Google Search

    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Wireless Zero Configuration?

      You can use either the WiFi adaptors software or XP's WZC but NOT both. If you have both installed try removing (deleting) with WiFi adaptor WiFi Management software (but not the Drivers). WZC is simple and should work without a problem so it seems likely the adaptors management software is interfering.

    7. #6
      StuGee's Avatar
      StuGee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Zero Configuration?

      Ahh yea that trouble shooter worked thanks, as i thought was as simple as unchecking the 'let this tool manage youre wireless settings' box in my wireless utility manager. Pftttt, cant believe i would have been charged 30+ for that advise if I used pc world or microsoft for help. Thanks guys! =]

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION