Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Intermittent connection every few seconds

    This is a discussion on Intermittent connection every few seconds within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; We have a desktop pc running XP and a Belkin wireless adaptor.It connects to the internet ( Sky broadband ) ...

    1. #1
      teddyman5's Avatar
      teddyman5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Intermittent connection every few seconds

      We have a desktop pc running XP and a Belkin wireless adaptor.It connects to the internet ( Sky broadband ) intermittently, when I open the wireless utility it shows excellent signal strength and link quality but then shows not available for a few seconds and on and on.It's not connected long enough to do anything.
      Nothing wrong with the Sky as I have a laptop and everything is fine.
      Any suggestions


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connection every few seconds

      You may want to try changing the channel on the router. You may also want to try moving the router slightly in case there is something interfering with the signal.

    4. #3
      teddyman5's Avatar
      teddyman5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connection every few seconds

      Router has been all over and channel has been changed.All combinations work OK with laptop so I don't think it is anything to do with the router.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connection every few seconds

      Is the belkin software controlling the connection? If it is try turning windows wireless zero config on in your control panel, admin tools, services page. This should put windows in charge of the device and may stabilise the connection.

    6. #5
      Kingo's Avatar
      Kingo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connection every few seconds

      i have the exact same problem, just with desktop PC's, one running vista one on XP so let me know if you find a solution

    7. #6
      Kermy's Avatar
      Kermy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sky
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Basic & Freesat
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NW of the U.K.
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connection every few seconds

      I am having a similar problem, but the other way round. It's my laptop with the intermittent wireless connection. What's more annoying is it has only just started happening. I used to have the SAGEM router, which is now dead, and has recently been replaced by the new Netgear one
      Would there be something with the new router causing the poor wireless connection (54mbps for a short while, and then has even been as low as 1mbps), and if so is there some way I can boost the connection signal?

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connection every few seconds

      Check the router settings page for what channel it is on if you haven't already.

    9. #8
      Kermy's Avatar
      Kermy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sky
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Basic & Freesat
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NW of the U.K.
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connection every few seconds

      I have done that, and changed them, but it doesn't seem to help

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connection every few seconds

      What channels have you tried (you may need to try each one in order)? Also have you checked what wireless networks are in range of your pc and what is near your router physically?

    11. #10
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connection every few seconds

      Just check that none of the equipment (router or adapter) is set to 108 Mbps mode. I had this on a router and some devices connected fine in 54 Mbps mode and some didn't work at all.

      Regards,

      Felix

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION