Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    urgent help needed!! lost connection

    This is a discussion on urgent help needed!! lost connection within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi, i was on my dads computer last night and was trying to unsecure his network so i could use ...

    1. #1
      JENNA CRITCHLEY's Avatar
      JENNA CRITCHLEY is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      urgent help needed!! lost connection

      hi,

      i was on my dads computer last night and was trying to unsecure his network so i could use my laptop there and i logged into the sky broadband help (via the sky symbol on his desktop) and i think i pressed something like 'disable' and it totally cut off all connection to the internet.
      And now when i press the symbol on the desktop is just says 'loading' and wont connect (i presume this is bacause there is no internet connection)

      How can i access the sky broadband page so i can change the settings??

      I have called sky and i spoke to a foreign person who could hardly understand me, she did some line tests and said all was ok at their end so basically i need to sort it out myself!!

      please help or my dad will kill me ha ha!!

      thanks

      jenna


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: urgent help needed!! lost connection

      Open Internet explorer, enter 192.168.0.1 in the address line, press enter, the user name is admin, password is sky (both in lower case).
      Check to see if you have disabled wireless access point (if using wireless). If you have, enable it again. Default setting is WPA-PSK. Network key should show up as on the sticker on the router (group of capital letters). Scroll the page down, click on apply.

    4. #3
      JENNA CRITCHLEY's Avatar
      JENNA CRITCHLEY is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: urgent help needed!! lost connection

      thanks for replying.

      i tried doing that, but as the internet isnt working, it just goes to a error page.

      do you know any other ways of getting to it, without connecting to the internet?

      its so frustrating!!

      you're advice is greatly appreciated, thanks

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: urgent help needed!! lost connection

      If you disabled the wireless you will need to plug an ethernet cable into the pc and router. If there is a pc accessing the internet properly via that router then just use that and input the IP address as stated.

    6. #5
      JENNA CRITCHLEY's Avatar
      JENNA CRITCHLEY is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: urgent help needed!! lost connection

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      If you disabled the wireless you will need to plug an ethernet cable into the pc and router. If there is a pc accessing the internet properly via that router then just use that and input the IP address as stated.
      Thanks Paul.

      My dad has misplaced his yellow cable but i have mine from my house, where i use virgin media....do you think this cable will work (think its ethernet cable - yellow one)??

      Also my dads which has the problem is a laptop. should the above still work?

      And once ive connected up again, can i just unplug the cable?

      Thanks for all you're help and advice

      Jenna

      Thanks

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: urgent help needed!! lost connection

      It looks like you have disabled the adapter in your dad's PC. To re-enable it assuming it is XP, go to the Control Panel> Network Connections and open it. Right click on the wireless adapter and click 'Enable'. While you are there, do the same with the ethernet adapter, if you see 'Disable' instead of 'Enable' leave it as that means that it is enabled. This should allow you to access the router. A word of warning, never mess around with wireless settings in the router while you are connected by wireless. This can cause you to be disconnected and make it difficult to reconnect as you have found
      Your cable should work OK, provided it fits the ports.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      JENNA CRITCHLEY's Avatar
      JENNA CRITCHLEY is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: urgent help needed!! lost connection

      thanks isitme,

      what should i do if its vista? i think thats what it possibly is?

      i know i'll never mess with them again....

      thanks for you're help!!

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: urgent help needed!! lost connection

      Control panel, network and sharing center, look for "manage network connections" on left of the page, click on it, right click on the device listed.
      Yes the yellow cable is the same thing for both internet providers, plug it into the port on the pc that has a symbol above it with 3 squares connected with a couple of lines and then into the yellow port on the router. If you just disabled the device on the laptop you have done no harm and won't need the cable, if you did anything inside the router settings again there will be no lasting harm done.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: urgent help needed!! lost connection

      As Paul says, or you can right click the 2 monitors icon in the tray and select Network and sharing from there. You can also try Connect to a Network there, or Diagnose and Repair, either might re-enable the adapter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: urgent help needed!! lost connection

      The annoying thing here is that the tier 1 agent should have checked through these with you if you told them you might have disabled something in error. Only takes a couple of mins even on vista.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION