Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    low or no connectivity

    This is a discussion on low or no connectivity within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My sky broadband was supposed to go active yesterday, but no text or call. So I plugged the netgear wireless ...

    1. #1
      coreservers's Avatar
      coreservers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dalkeith
      Broadband ISP: IDnet
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      low or no connectivity

      My sky broadband was supposed to go active yesterday, but no text or call. So I plugged the netgear wireless router in. all the lights went to green. went to the pc, and it can see the router but is only getting 1 bar of a signal. ok i thought, move the router to the pc, which involved lifting floorboards etc. and putting in a 10m bb extensnion from the main socket microfilter to the router. It's now 3 feet from the pc, and gets 2 bars, but still low or no connectivity. treid getting into teh router via the software but could not get in.
      SSid and wpa are correct?
      really confused as to whether they've actually connected me at all now meant to add, it's a Belkin wirelss card, which functioned absolutely fine with BT. And I upgraded the drivers via a download from my work internet access.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: low or no connectivity

      Why don't you connect it via ethernet and do away with wireless, many things including interference from other networks can seriously affect the way it works.

      It would have been better to leave the router where it was and run a cat5 cable to the PC instead of an extension lead.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: low or no connectivity

      192.168.0.1, user name admin, password sky. (Do this on ethernet cable) Try changing channels on the router wireless setup.

    5. #4
      coreservers's Avatar
      coreservers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dalkeith
      Broadband ISP: IDnet
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: low or no connectivity

      the extension, is a high quality, one. I cant run a cat 5e or 6 that far either (wife hates cables everywhere. have hooked a cat 5 from router to pc, but still little or no connectivity, distance to exchange is 2021 meters

      I'm beginning to think the work hasn't been done as it was supposed to be done as i've had no notification of it from sky yet, despite it now being a day overdue

    6. #5
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: low or no connectivity

      Makes no odds wether it is a 5 extension or a 50 one, it is designed for PSTN.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: low or no connectivity

      You do not need to be connected to the internet to access the router setup. If you are unable to do this, even when wired, something is wrong with your setup. You may have to change the channel to improve wireless reception.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      coreservers's Avatar
      coreservers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dalkeith
      Broadband ISP: IDnet
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: low or no connectivity

      I also get limited or no connectivity with it plugged directly into the main socket. whilst runnign a cat5 cable all the way upstairs to the pc (and no I'll not re-arrange the house for this lol). Seems the line is not set-up, and it still on test. looks like I'll just have to wait until sky\bt can be bothered to do the job they were supposed to do yesterday.

      It is also a specific adsl extension, with the correct connectors that goes directly from filter to back of router, with no adapters.

      I can get into the router, but can get no line stats from it

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: low or no connectivity

      Usually when the line is on test you will still be connected to the exchange, albeit at a very low speed. If the light is green it does suggested that it is connected. You could try this - Go into the router settings and click the Connection Status button. Click the Disconnect button, wait 30secs then click the Connect button. If it still fails to connect, click the Sky Test button, see if that helps. If it does not it will give an error code, make a note of that for when you phone Sky. One other thing you can try, is disconnecting the router from the power for 45 minutes, then power it up.

      Sky will probably tell you you have to wait for 3 days, before they can do anything. This period is not often needed, but it gives them a buffer should anything go wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      coreservers's Avatar
      coreservers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dalkeith
      Broadband ISP: IDnet
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: low or no connectivity

      got in finally, the bt engineer who happens to be my next door neighbour, told me sky didn't give him job details till just 3pm this afternoon, despite mailing me a week ago with the date.
      these are the initial stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7840 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42 db 11 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 25 db

      is it just me or is attenuation a wee bit high

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: low or no connectivity

      depends how far away you're meant to be from the exchange...try in the test socket and see if it improves as extention leads can add to attenuation some times (seen 1 line go from 63 on an old plug in extention to 4 in the test socket!!!)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION