Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29

    Wireless Stopped Working!

    This is a discussion on Wireless Stopped Working! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I think this would be easier if I called you...Do you mind if I give you my number or I ...

    1. #21
      hassy28's Avatar
      hassy28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01636
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Stopped Working!

      I think this would be easier if I called you...Do you mind if I give you my number or I could call you.

      YHPM


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Wireless Stopped Working!

      If things are this crucial I suggest that you connect by ethernet and sort out the wifi when you're under less pressure!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    4. #23
      hassy28's Avatar
      hassy28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01636
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Stopped Working!

      I am on with the ethernet mate. I am not the most advanced with IT so what do you mean with WIfi?

      lol

    5. #24
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Stopped Working!

      Quote Originally Posted by hassy28 View Post
      I think this would be easier if I called you...Do you mind if I give you my number or I could call you.

      YHPM
      Sorry I am about to leave for work.

    6. #25
      hassy28's Avatar
      hassy28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01636
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Stopped Working!

      could you not talk me through it??

      Thanks for your help anyway though mate

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Stopped Working!

      Is there a switch on your laptop for turning the Wireless adapter on/off. Make sure it is switched on. Disconnect the ethernet cable when trying to connect by wireless.

      Have you ever had this laptop connected wirelessly? If so was it to your own router or one at your workplace?

      What happens when you click Start, then Connect To and click your network? Does it give an error message?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      hassy28's Avatar
      hassy28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01636
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Stopped Working!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Is there a switch on your laptop for turning the Wireless adapter on/off. Make sure it is switched on. Disconnect the ethernet cable when trying to connect by wireless.

      Have you ever had this laptop connected wirelessly? If so was it to your own router or one at your workplace?

      What happens when you click Start, then Connect To and click your network? Does it give an error message?
      1. There is a switch and the switch is on.
      2. Whenever i try to connect without the ethernet cable then I cannot log on.
      3. The laptop has been working wirelessly for about a year up until Friday that is, which is when it has stopped working.
      4. My wireless says that I am connected so I dont have any error message at all.

      Hope this helps!

      H

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Stopped Working!

      The laptop has been working wirelessly for about a year up until Friday that is, which is when it has stopped working.
      This suggests something has changed in your System. Have you installed any new software which may have had an effect on it? It is possible an update to your security software or even Vista itself is causing it. I do not allow Vista to automatically install updates for this reason. If you can't find anything, try using System Restore to move you back to a period when it worked. Unfortunately Vista does not keep many so you might not be able to go back far enough. You could also try removing the updates Vista has made around the period the problem surfaced.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Wireless Stopped Working!

      Quote Originally Posted by hassy28 View Post
      thanks for the reply. I can see 3 networks,

      1 my own and two other neighbours which are both security enabled.


      Help!!

      H

      And what happens exactly when you try to join your own network?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION