Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Wireless Help please

    This is a discussion on Wireless Help please within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Not sure if I'm on the right board so apologies if not. I currently have 2 desktops connected to the ...

    1. #1
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless Help please

      Not sure if I'm on the right board so apologies if not.

      I currently have 2 desktops connected to the router with wires. My daughter has bought a laptop today & wants to use it a wireless connection.
      Are there any simple instructions somewheer as I have no idea what to do.
      Her laptop is wireless enabled.

      Thanks
      Last edited by Saturday; 19-08-08 at 04:52 PM. Reason: Moved to wireless


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Wireless Help please

      XP or vista? If nothing has changed on the router you just need to click on the Sky***** number listed in your "wireless networks in range list" that refers to the card/ sticker for your router, then enter the network key in capital letters (no numbers) when asked for the key/ pass phrase.

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Wireless Help please

      well i was going to point you to the page in the Tools section, but i see you are already there! Did it help?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-wireless.html

    5. #4
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Help please

      Thanks guys, am going to try it later when it's a bit quieter round here, too many kids at the moment

    6. #5
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Help please

      Ok, she can't wait so trying it now. Meant to mention it's Vista.
      Ok, I get all the bit on the Netgear page, haven't changed anything there but how do I get the wireless networks in range list ?

      Edit - Have now got a message saying ' Turn on wireless capability' This can be done by using a switch or a function key combination.

      I can't find a switch on the laptop.
      Last edited by ScottishSweetie; 17-08-08 at 07:07 PM.

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Wireless Help please

      the switch is normally on the front to the left hand side. What laptop make/model is it.

    8. #7
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Help please

      It's a FUJITSU SIEMENS AMILO LI 2727/1

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Wireless Help please

      From the manual on Page 32:

      Switching wireless LAN module on and off
      Check whether the wireless LAN module is activated/deactivated in
      the installed wireless LAN software.
      WirelessLAN:
      ► Use the keyboard shortcut Fn + F1 to switch the wireless LAN module on and off.
      �� The wireless LAN indicator lights up when the wireless LAN module is switched on.
      Pay attention to the additional safety notes for devices with radio
      components provided in the "Safety" manual.
      Further information on using wireless LAN can be found in

    10. #9
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Help please

      Yay, it's working. Thank you so much & thanks from her too, she'll be really happy when she gets in.

      Thanks again both of you.

      Karen
      Last edited by ScottishSweetie; 17-08-08 at 07:30 PM.

    11. #10
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Help please

      Ok, I have another small problem. When the laptop is turned off & then back on, the switch hasn't stayed on & I need to go through turning it on again, any ideas on how to make it stay on?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION