Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Wireless works with PC and Wii, why not with laptop?!

This is a discussion on Wireless works with PC and Wii, why not with laptop?! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there I have been running Sky Broadband wirelessly for several months now with no problems. I also run my ...

Skabnoze is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Wireless works with PC and Wii, why not with laptop?!

Hi there

I have been running Sky Broadband wirelessly for several months now with no problems. I also run my Wii off the same connection. However, I have now tried connecting my work laptop at home and am not having much luck. It says the Signal Strength is Excellent, and the Status is Connected, so theoretically everything should be fine. But when I try connecting it comes up with the usual annoying white error page. I've noticed also that when trying to connect it says at the bottom it's connecting to a bunch of numbers rather than the URL address, in case that's relevant. As far as I can see all the wireless and network settings for both PC and laptop are identical. I can't understand why it would work with the PC (on which I am typing this post now) and the Wii, but not the laptop. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
      Jon

EDIT: Not sure if the information in my little user box is accurate: I don't know what router I actually have, all I know is it's Netgear and it's black! Also can't actually remember which Sky Broadband package I'm actually on, though I'm pretty sure it's "Base".

2. Advertisement
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited