Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Ethernet connection fine but no wifi on my laptop

This is a discussion on Ethernet connection fine but no wifi on my laptop within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi could somebody out there please help me - i am a beginner to most wifi things apologies - we ...

kmurtagh01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Unhappy Ethernet connection fine but no wifi on my laptop

Hi
      could somebody out there please help me - i am a beginner to most wifi things apologies - we got sky broadband which I installed last week. the ethernet connection is fine and working well and the router lights are all perfect. The problem is that my laptop dongle keeps trying to connect to sky wirelessly (the dongle detects it fine and accepts the network key) but then disconnects in seconds this cycle continues repeatedly. I have looked at advice on this forum given previously for similar problems which suggested going into the router settings and reentering the ssid and network key etc which I have done. After doing so I managed to connect my fathers laptop via a usb dongle to wifi but I still cannot connect my own. I bought a new dongle which claims to be sky compatible but with this and my old one (which has no previous problems connecting to any network) I am not getting connected to wifi! Do I need to change settings on my laptop?
      Please can somebody help I am at the end of my tether and its way past my bedtime

2. Advertisement
      dt101187 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Re: Ethernet connection fine but no wifi on my laptop

built in adapter?