Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Router Problems

    This is a discussion on Router Problems within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Problem existing Router (white Netgear) would not switch on even though a power supply was going into the router, then ...

    1. #1
      Shonky's Avatar
      Shonky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wellingborough
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Problems

      Problem existing Router (white Netgear) would not switch on even though a power supply was going into the router, then as if by magic it worked then it suddenly stopped again on top of that I could only get a very limited wireless connection downstairs on my laptop.

      After many frustrating telephone calls with tier 1 and being told a replacement "is on the way" chasing the replacement I was told that "we do not replace routers as it is usually a line problem" I have now received a new router - Black 'A Grade Phase 1 Router UOM1 = 1 (Netgear)' I am still not getting a good signal downstairs, so what thoughts do you have?

      oh yes I am using a Belkin Wireless G NotebookCard in the Laptop so do I need to upgrade to a better card?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Router Problems

      Try changing the wireless channel in use by the router, it may be in "Auto" mode, try putting it into 11 or 13

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router Problems

      Moved to the wireless forum as it looks like it is now a Wireless problem rather than router (power)

    5. #4
      Shonky's Avatar
      Shonky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wellingborough
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Problems

      Sorry about that a bit of a numpty when it comes to this stuff, just want it to work.

    6. #5
      Shonky's Avatar
      Shonky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wellingborough
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Try changing the wireless channel in use by the router, it may be in "Auto" mode, try putting it into 11 or 13
      Right the "keep me handy" card that came with the kit tells me it is on Channel 11 so how do I check this and or change the channel?

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Router Problems

      192.168.0.1, user name admin, password sky.
      When page loads click on wireless settings link on left of page in white router or on the link called setup in top left of page in black routers. It will tell you your current channel on that page.

    8. #7
      swift00's Avatar
      swift00 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Problems

      with your old router....i think your power supply AC adapter or whteva is faulty....just get another one...or use the replacements power plug....match up the voltage then plug it in....im not responsible if your power plug blows....

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION