Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

    This is a discussion on difficult wireless problem! test your skills here within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; ok so first of all im an ICT Technician and feel utterly gutted and ashamed its come to this! haha ...

    1. #1
      cjuk87's Avatar
      cjuk87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      ok so first of all im an ICT Technician and feel utterly gutted and ashamed its come to this! haha

      basically we received our sagem router through about 2weeks ago and have never received a letter telling us it is all setup (both a friend and family received these letters)

      i also installed both of their routers with no problems at all.

      when connecting mine i get a wired connection instantly. i can connect to the router and check all settings, everything seems fine.

      but connecting wirelessly isnt happening, it finds it with a full signal but doesnt even begin to connect it just tells me its attempting to.

      i have xp, i have turned my firewall off, ive updated my driver, i have changed the sky name, i have changed the password, ive tried it with wep, ive tried it disabled, ive tried 80211 ive tried putting it on channel 6 and 11, ive tried turning off upnp. ive reset the router.

      test your skills because i give up

      the password is correct the settings are all correct yet nothing!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      astra's Avatar
      astra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYELL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      200
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      have you tried to setting up a static lan ip address on your pc

      ip address 192.168.0.10
      sub 255.255.255.0
      gate 192.168.0.1

      dns 192.168.0.1

    4. #3
      bazz007's Avatar
      bazz007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      If that static ip approach doesn't work, are you using XP's Wireless Zero Configuration Service or the crappy one that comes with your drivers, if your are using xp zero config & your still having issues try

      BOINGO

      good luck

    5. #4
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      Also, it may be worth finding out what else is going on in your area, try running up Net Stumbler which should give you a local "site survey" to see if any conflicts.
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    6. #5
      burf's Avatar
      burf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Wales
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      sky are having issues with the sagem
      give them a call. fixed mine in five mins

    7. #6
      cjuk87's Avatar
      cjuk87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      ok tried doing a static ip,

      tried using that software

      no results still!

      what problems have sky been encountering lately? what did they do to solve yours when you rung??

    8. #7
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      Are both devices set to use the same mode (802, 54g etc). I would try setting things up with the minimal settings, disable security or use WEP, set channels to auto, and use static IP addressing - hopefully with all the security settings set low and once you get a connection then you can change things one step at a time
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


    9. #8
      cjuk87's Avatar
      cjuk87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      Quote Originally Posted by malc-c View Post
      Are both devices set to use the same mode (802, 54g etc). I would try setting things up with the minimal settings, disable security or use WEP, set channels to auto, and use static IP addressing - hopefully with all the security settings set low and once you get a connection then you can change things one step at a time
      the thing is my family have the exact same setup and same box etc and it lets me connect instantly to their network, thats whats annoying me, it cant be a laptop setting and yet the box is setup the same also?

      ive tried doing that in the past taking off all security, channels are already set to auto and doing static didnt work,

      i'll try static ip with security off and see if it helps but its doubtful
      edit: just tried it and didnt work same problem as the start...it shows wireless it gets full bars but doesnt even begin to connect it just says waiting for the network.
      Last edited by cjuk87; 08-07-08 at 08:23 PM. Reason: update

    10. #9
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      Delete the preferred networks as it may be trying to connect to one of the preferred networks.

    11. #10
      snak2's Avatar
      snak2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: difficult wireless problem! test your skills here

      same problem as you rang sky they sent me a netgear router eerything is now fine

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION