Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Problems with MAC addresses etc - help needed!

    This is a discussion on Problems with MAC addresses etc - help needed! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello, I really need some help in sorting out my router. From what i gather - it is the Sagem ...

    1. #1
      the_vinyl_frontier's Avatar
      the_vinyl_frontier is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with MAC addresses etc - help needed!

      Hello,

      I really need some help in sorting out my router. From what i gather - it is the Sagem F@st 2504 that came free with sky. I had previously had the netgear router, but that had packed up.

      I trie installing my new router yesterday, and i got my pc to connect (wirelessly, that is my only option) with no problems. I also got my mobile phone to connect wirelessly.

      I then put in the MAC addresses of these two and clicked 'allow' - and both seemed to be working fine.

      Now my problem starts...

      I wanted to connect my xbox 360 wirelessly to the modem, but because it was only allowing the 2 mac addresses of my phone and pc, the 360 could not connect. I logged onto the router from my pc and changed it to BLOCK the 2 mac addresses (dont ask why, i was just having a stupid moment).

      I cannot now connect to the router with my pc to change the settings.

      I have tried resetting the router - with the tiny button in the back of the router, but nothing happens. When i log onto my pc, i get 'connected to wireless connection' - but i cannot view any web pages in my browser (including logging onto the modem)

      I also cannont now connect with my 360 or phone.

      I think i must have turned on some sort of setting to 'block all mac addresses' or something?

      Is there anything i can do to try and fix it? Would i need to borrow someone laptop and connect wirelessly with that and login to the modem control panel to delete the blocked mac addresses? Or is there any other reset that i can do?

      Cheers for you help,
      John


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ratcliffes's Avatar
      Ratcliffes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with MAC addresses etc - help needed!

      Factory reset button should have reset the router to the same condition in which you received it. Suggest you re-read the instructions for resetting as this should work.

      I don't have the Sagem router or its reference manual but this would certainly work with a Netgear Router. Looking at the Sagem website for an instruction manual for a similar model (Always dangerous to assume it is the same) it seems as if this isn't as easy as it is on a Netgear.

      The other alternative as you suggest is to borrow another laptop or better still something with a wired ethernet connection. Wired avoids the complication of wireless (which is your only problem) but if you have just blocked the MAC addresses of your phone and laptop then any device which doesn't have one of the two MAC addresses in the blocked list should work fine.
      Good luck..
      Last edited by Ratcliffes; 13-06-08 at 04:07 PM.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Problems with MAC addresses etc - help needed!

      Hold the reset button in for 10 secs, then release, do not hold it in for any longer than this though.

    5. #4
      the_vinyl_frontier's Avatar
      the_vinyl_frontier is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with MAC addresses etc - help needed!

      Thanks guys, ill give this a go.

      I rang Sky helpline and the lad said to hold down the reset button for at least 30 seconds!

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with MAC addresses etc - help needed!

      You need to hold in the reset button until the Test light flashes. This usually takes about 10 secs, as Paul says. Remember the router must be powered on when you do this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION